Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Anybody using OpenOffice 2.04 (Linux) under Xandros?

 
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-20-2010, 08:11 PM
If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly. <sigh>

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 702G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Xandros Linux (build 2007-10-19 13:03)
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Don Phillipson
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-20-2010, 08:36 PM
"BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hj7o0j$mbn$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...

> If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
> installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
> changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly. <sigh>


Do we need to know why you think otherwise?

--
Don Phillipson
Carlsbad Springs
(Ottawa, Canada)


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
watnne@googlemail.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-24-2010, 08:47 PM
Maybe you are wrong?

On Sun, 24 Jan 2010 13:02:39 -0500, "S. Fishpaste"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>On Wed, 20 Jan 2010 14:11:56 -0600, BillW50 in comp.sys.laptops wrote:
>> If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
>> installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
>> changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly. <sigh>

>
>Well one can download dict files from OOo you know. ;-D



HELP! I CAN'T STOP TYPING IN CAPITAL LETTERS UNDER WINDOWS!
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-25-2010, 09:28 AM
In news:(E-Mail Removed) ,
S. Fishpaste typed on Sun, 24 Jan 2010 13:02:39 -0500:
> On Wed, 20 Jan 2010 14:11:56 -0600, BillW50 in comp.sys.laptops wrote:
>> If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
>> installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
>> changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly.
>> <sigh>

>
> Well one can download dict files from OOo you know. ;-D


That may be, but installing them is a different matter. :-(

--
Bill
Gateway M465e ('06 era) - Windows XP SP3


 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-26-2010, 04:53 PM
S. Fishpaste wrote on Mon, 25 Jan 2010 22:46:58 -0500:
> On Mon, 25 Jan 2010 03:28:26 -0600, BillW50 in comp.sys.laptops wrote:
>> In news:(E-Mail Removed) ,
>> S. Fishpaste typed on Sun, 24 Jan 2010 13:02:39 -0500:
>>> On Wed, 20 Jan 2010 14:11:56 -0600, BillW50 in comp.sys.laptops wrote:
>>>> If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
>>>> installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
>>>> changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly.
>>>> <sigh>
>>> Well one can download dict files from OOo you know. ;-D

>> That may be, but installing them is a different matter. :-(

>
> Care to elaborate on what you've actually tried? Sorry if you
> mentioned it earlier on; I just started following.
>
> Sometimes and I have done this in the past; Upstream's versions are
> newer then the distro in use. Downloading and installing from the
> Upstream source tree sometimes is desired. First have you downloaded
> the dict files from OOo and installed them or just tried with your
> distribution files?


I downloaded OpenOffice 3.1.1 for Linux RPM and when I go to install it,
I get the following error message.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Checksumming...
Extracting ...
/home/user/My Documents/OO Install/setup: line 246: rpm2cpio: command
not found
cpio: premature end of archive
find: usr: No such file or directory
basename: missing operand
Try `basename --help' for more information.
/dev/pts/0
Error: Failed to extract the Java Runtime Environment (JRE) files. (exit
code 7)

Press <ENTER> to continue...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I tried downloading it again on a Windows XP machine running IE7. But
the server doesn't like IE7. As it is slow and spotty. Trying again with
Firefox and that is downloading fine so far. So I'll try installing it
again.

I also noticed that this Linux machine (which I just freshly
reinstalled) only downloads at half of the speed of my Windows machines.
Nor is Linux very good in the multimedia department. I see a big
difference in performance on the machines that I run both Windows and Linux.

Now I am getting:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
basename: extra operand `Install/update'
Try `basename --help' for more information.
dirname: extra operand `Documents/OO'
Try `dirname --help' for more information.
basename: extra operand `Install/update'
Try `basename --help' for more information.


Press <ENTER> to continue...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 702G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Xandros Linux (build 2007-10-19 13:03)
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-26-2010, 06:30 PM
felmon wrote on Tue, 26 Jan 2010 11:21:28 -0600:
> On Tue, 26 Jan 2010 10:53:52 -0600, BillW50 wrote:
>
>> I downloaded OpenOffice 3.1.1 for Linux RPM and when I go to install it,
>> I get the following error message.

>
> I should add, you don't need apt-get, etc. if there is a deb package for
> OpenOffice then download the deb package. there are simple instructions
> for installing deb packages if you ask here or google on your own.


Okay now downloading the deb version of OpenOffice. Site still doesn't
like IE7 for downloading. While Firefox is still working okay with it.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 702G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Xandros Linux (build 2007-10-19 13:03)
 
Reply With Quote
 
M.I.5¾
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-27-2010, 09:31 AM

"Don Phillipson" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:hj7piv$6hp$(E-Mail Removed)...
> "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:hj7o0j$mbn$(E-Mail Removed)-september.org...
>
>> If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
>> installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
>> changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly. <sigh>

>
> Do we need to know why you think otherwise?
>


Well, he spelt 'spelled' wrong for a start.


 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-27-2010, 03:56 PM
BillW50 wrote:
> felmon wrote on Tue, 26 Jan 2010 11:21:28 -0600:
>> On Tue, 26 Jan 2010 10:53:52 -0600, BillW50 wrote:
>>
>>> I downloaded OpenOffice 3.1.1 for Linux RPM and when I go to install it,
>>> I get the following error message.

>>
>> I should add, you don't need apt-get, etc. if there is a deb package
>> for OpenOffice then download the deb package. there are simple
>> instructions for installing deb packages if you ask here or google on
>> your own.

>
> Okay now downloading the deb version of OpenOffice. Site still doesn't
> like IE7 for downloading. While Firefox is still working okay with it.


Same thing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

dirname: extra operand `Documents/OO/update'
Try `dirname --help' for more information.


Press <ENTER> to continue...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The readme states:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is a wide variety of Linux distributions, and even within the same
distribution there may be different installation options (KDE vs Gnome,
etc.). Some distributions ship with their own ‘native’ version of
OpenOffice.org, which may have different features from this Community
OpenOffice.org. Sometimes you can install the Community OpenOffice.org
alongside the ‘native’ version. However, it’s usually safer to remove
the ‘native’ version before installing this Community version. Consult
the documentation for your distribution for details of how to do this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There is no documentation for this distro, except for the user's manual
that covers only brief comments about the pre-installed software. There
is a add/remove application. But it is only for add/remove applications
that you install from their server. And removing pre-installed software
is not allowed. Pretty sad, eh?

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 702G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Xandros Linux (build 2007-10-19 13:03)
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-27-2010, 07:34 PM
AJL wrote on Wed, 27 Jan 2010 09:41:42 -0700:
> BillW50 <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> If so, does your spell checker work? I thought maybe my Linux
>> installation was corrupt, so I did a reinstall from the DVD. Nothing
>> changed at all. It claims everything I type is spelled correctly. <sigh>

>
> The spell checker works fine on OpenOffice 2.04 on my Xandros powered
> 2G Surf. However I have reinstalled from the F9 option. I have never
> used the DVD for recovery though I doubt that would make a difference
> in the spell checker problem. Sorry for the delay I just got around to
> checking it last night.
>
> Right now I'm trying this Windows Agent newsreader using Wine on a new
> Ubuntu 9.10 installation. If you get this it worked...


Well that is good to hear. Was Open Office pre-installed on the 2G Surf,
or did you get it from the Asus server? I found an Open Office update
through Add/Remove, but I don't see any changes whatsoever. Even the
version number is the same.

I am using the same DVD recovery disc all of the time. Maybe that is the
problem. I have other recovery disc, so maybe I should try one of those.
I could swap out this 4G SSD too. But all I have for spares are 8G and
16G SSD. Kind of overkill for Xandros.

I also have 2GB of RAM and Xandros can only see 1GB. I wouldn't think
that would screw up the spell checker. But I guess you never know until
you put less in the machine.

Good luck with Ubuntu 9.10. Hopefully you can find all of the drivers.
For me, the WiFi and the webcam is the hardest to get working. Although
there is no application that uses the webcam except Skype under Xandros
anyway. So I guess no real loss there. Although lots of applications
uses it under Windows.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 702G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Xandros Linux (build 2007-10-19 13:03)
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      01-27-2010, 07:51 PM
BillW50 wrote on Wed, 27 Jan 2010 13:34:26 -0600:
> I also have 2GB of RAM and Xandros can only see 1GB. I wouldn't think
> that would screw up the spell checker. But I guess you never know until
> you put less in the machine.


Just popped in 256MB of RAM real quick. No difference. Just applications
seem to open a tad slower. But that is about it. I'll try a 16G SSD and
a new recovery disc next and see what happens.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 702G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Xandros Linux (build 2007-10-19 13:03)
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help to install OpenOffice Dirk Nerling Apple 8 01-23-2005 07:01 PM
TC1000 and OpenOffice Robb Edge Tablet PC 3 12-25-2004 05:40 AM
OpenOffice Olle F Tablet PC 2 12-25-2004 05:37 AM
Openoffice??? MB Dell 14 04-16-2004 09:48 PM
Drag and drop lost after installing OpenOffice. Paul Sture Apple 9 09-07-2003 08:27 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment