Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Biostar M7VIG accept an AMD Sempron 2800+?

 
 
Mobo Newbie
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11-23-2004, 04:44 AM
The Biostar M7VIG with VIA KM266 Chipset accepts Socket A processors.
I've got an AMD Duron 1.3GHz processor in there today.

Does anyone think the Sempron 2800+ (Socket A) would work ok?

I've read the Sempron 2800+ is an Athlon XP with less cache.

Biostar archives show the Athlon XP as supported, but not the new
Sempron:
http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/cpu/a_socket_a.php3

The Sempron 2800+ operates at 2.0GHz, which is faster than the Athlon
XP 2600+ (1.3GHz):
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11604,00.html

Is putting this faster CPU on this motherboard going to burn it up?

Thank you for any advice,
Eric
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
KURIAKI
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11-23-2004, 05:19 AM
There are not BIOS updates for support it:
http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/bi...p3?model=M7VIG

--
Desde Cancun, Mexico
KURIAKI

45,586 BIOS strings in my database
BIOS Support: http://www.supportbios.info/Default2.asp?Idioma=EN





"Mobo Newbie" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:(E-Mail Removed) om...
> The Biostar M7VIG with VIA KM266 Chipset accepts Socket A processors.
> I've got an AMD Duron 1.3GHz processor in there today.
>
> Does anyone think the Sempron 2800+ (Socket A) would work ok?
>
> I've read the Sempron 2800+ is an Athlon XP with less cache.
>
> Biostar archives show the Athlon XP as supported, but not the new
> Sempron:
> http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/cpu/a_socket_a.php3
>
> The Sempron 2800+ operates at 2.0GHz, which is faster than the Athlon
> XP 2600+ (1.3GHz):
> http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/..._11604,00.html
>
> Is putting this faster CPU on this motherboard going to burn it up?
>
> Thank you for any advice,
> Eric

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Wes Newell
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11-23-2004, 09:24 AM
On Mon, 22 Nov 2004 20:44:33 -0800, Mobo Newbie wrote:

> The Biostar M7VIG with VIA KM266 Chipset accepts Socket A processors.
> I've got an AMD Duron 1.3GHz processor in there today.
>
> Does anyone think the Sempron 2800+ (Socket A) would work ok?
>

Yes, but not at max speed. Don't get a Sempron for this board (or any
other socket A Sempron for that matter)

> I've read the Sempron 2800+ is an Athlon XP with less cache.
>

See Sempron in link in sig line.

> Biostar archives show the Athlon XP as supported, but not the new
> Sempron:
> http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/cpu/a_socket_a.php3
>
> The Sempron 2800+ operates at 2.0GHz, which is faster than the Athlon XP
> 2600+ (1.3GHz):


This is not right, The athlon XP 2400+ has a default of 2.0GHz. The 2600+
is faster.

> Is putting this faster CPU on this motherboard going to burn it up?
>

No.

it's ver important you see Sempron in link below. And reading everything
on the site wouldn't hurt.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When is the best time to upgrade my Sempron 2800 chip (to faster Sempron?) 405 TD Estate AMD Overclocking 3 12-15-2006 10:07 PM
Biostar M7VIG 400 Problems uneasyrider Biostar 0 10-26-2006 01:46 PM
Sempron 3000+ on a Biostar nforce 2 Mobo? Patrick Beaugrand Biostar 2 09-15-2005 09:21 AM
xp 1700 on M7vig mobo, how to overclock via multiplier? JT AMD Overclocking 1 12-01-2004 09:06 AM
BIOSTAR M7VIG PRO/Xp1800 Gunner Biostar 5 09-25-2003 07:27 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment