Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

cpu upgrade query?

 
 
Dave
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2004, 03:11 AM
i have an abit kg7a-raid mainboard with an XP1900 cpu fitted.
this board has a 200/266mhz fsb.
i am interested in upgrading to the XP3200+ and wondering if this board will
run that cpu ok?

tia


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Achim Weissegger
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2004, 03:18 AM
you need a 400mhz fsb for the 3200+


"Dave" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:cepk4p$i45$(E-Mail Removed)...
> i have an abit kg7a-raid mainboard with an XP1900 cpu fitted.
> this board has a 200/266mhz fsb.
> i am interested in upgrading to the XP3200+ and wondering if this board

will
> run that cpu ok?
>
> tia
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Dave
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2004, 03:55 AM
sorry.... meant to say that the xp3200 has a 400mhz fsb


"Dave" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:cepk4p$i45$(E-Mail Removed)...
> i have an abit kg7a-raid mainboard with an XP1900 cpu fitted.
> this board has a 200/266mhz fsb.
> i am interested in upgrading to the XP3200+ and wondering if this board

will
> run that cpu ok?
>
> tia
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
BigBadger
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2004, 05:39 AM
The fastest CPU you can run would be the XP2600+ with a 266FSB.... If you
look for one of these CPU's be careful because there are 3 types of XP2600+,
2 of which have 333FSB and would be no good on your board.

--
*****Replace 'NOSPAM' with 'btinternet' in the reply address*****
"Dave" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:cepk4p$i45$(E-Mail Removed)...
> i have an abit kg7a-raid mainboard with an XP1900 cpu fitted.
> this board has a 200/266mhz fsb.
> i am interested in upgrading to the XP3200+ and wondering if this board

will
> run that cpu ok?
>
> tia
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
rstlne
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2004, 08:38 AM

"Dave" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:cepk4p$i45$(E-Mail Removed)...
> i have an abit kg7a-raid mainboard with an XP1900 cpu fitted.
> this board has a 200/266mhz fsb.
> i am interested in upgrading to the XP3200+ and wondering if this board

will
> run that cpu ok?
>
> tia
>
>


Yea, it'll probably run it, but it will not run it verry fast..
1463mhz vs 2200mhz


 
Reply With Quote
 
Wes Newell
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2004, 04:59 PM
On Wed, 04 Aug 2004 13:11:32 +1000, Dave wrote:

> i have an abit kg7a-raid mainboard with an XP1900 cpu fitted.
> this board has a 200/266mhz fsb.
> i am interested in upgrading to the XP3200+ and wondering if this board will
> run that cpu ok?
>

Your FSB is limited to 133MHz (maybe 145 overclocked). The 3200+ uses a
200MHz FSB and all newer cpu's are multiplier locked so you can't change
it. So the max you would get out of the cpu is 11x145 vs. default 11x200.
Your best bet for this board is a /266 model cpu, or any that is unlocked.
See link below for more info.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GX100 CPU Upgrade: Which CPU? Dr. Anton T. Squeegee Dell 4 10-02-2006 01:08 AM
To Upgrade or Not To Upgrade Asus Boards?? aj Asus 5 07-24-2005 02:35 AM
How to identify Athlon CPU? A7N8X-E Dlx having trouble with 3200+ CPU. CPU fraud? Erik Harris Asus 18 08-18-2004 08:46 PM
PII CPU jumpers and CPU upgrade dsr@Florence.edu PC Hardware 2 02-17-2004 03:18 PM
Questions about 8hka+ cpu overclocking and cpu upgrade TIA Sonicmonkey Epox 2 01-09-2004 07:11 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment