Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Dragon+ K7V out of the blue???

 
 
captmikey@hotpotato.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-30-2005, 10:18 PM
I'm trying to consolidate space in my basement and was going to do a
minor rebuild on my "faithful" old Soyo Dragon+ by installing a new
120 GIg slave drive and reformatting the root 45 Gig unit... then I'd
do a fresh install of W2K. Its been running just fine with two (2) 45
gig drives, two CD drives, and one zip100 IDE.

I figured I'd do this nice, got out my small vacumn and put the
mini-pc nozzles on and cleaned out all the lint and dog hair so the
inside of the case/mobo looked like new. Connected up the new HDD as
a 2nd slave, formatted it and started to transfer files. Decided to
pull Slave #1 out, and reboot with the root drive and the 120 Gig
slave #3. She won't boot guys. Putting it all back together didn't
get a boot/post either.

I removed all PCI cards, cables, re-set the CMOS to default using the
jumper, re-seated both the video AGP and the memory, and she still
won't post. All I get is a startup, everything is spinning, then a
long beep, and it shuts down by itself within 5 seconds or so. Soyo's
FAQs say that I should re-seat the memory and video and thats why I
did that. All the fans are connected and spin up when I power on.
But no post. I'm at my wits end. Is there any way to detect a short?

Anyone here have a "EUREKA" or "YOU DUMMY... ALL YOU HAVE TO DO
IS..."? I'll thank you in advance for the great answers I'm sure to
get! Incidentally, I'm using the Tyan 2460 twin MP unit that I
intended to dismantle and part out! So I didn't burn all my
bridges... but I can't believe that the Soyo decided today was a nice
day to die.

Mike
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
AndyC
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-01-2005, 01:27 AM

(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
> I'm trying to consolidate space in my basement and was going to do a
> minor rebuild on my "faithful" old Soyo Dragon+ by installing a new
> 120 GIg slave drive and reformatting the root 45 Gig unit... then I'd
> do a fresh install of W2K. Its been running just fine with two (2)

45
> gig drives, two CD drives, and one zip100 IDE.
>
> I figured I'd do this nice, got out my small vacumn and put the
> mini-pc nozzles on and cleaned out all the lint and dog hair so

the
> inside of the case/mobo looked like new. Connected up the new HDD as
> a 2nd slave, formatted it and started to transfer files. Decided to
> pull Slave #1 out, and reboot with the root drive and the 120 Gig
> slave #3. She won't boot guys. Putting it all back together didn't
> get a boot/post either.
>
> I removed all PCI cards, cables, re-set the CMOS to default using the
> jumper, re-seated both the video AGP and the memory, and she still
> won't post. All I get is a startup, everything is spinning, then a
> long beep, and it shuts down by itself within 5 seconds or so.

Soyo's
> FAQs say that I should re-seat the memory and video and thats why I
> did that. All the fans are connected and spin up when I power on.
> But no post. I'm at my wits end. Is there any way to detect a

short?
>
> Anyone here have a "EUREKA" or "YOU DUMMY... ALL YOU HAVE TO DO
> IS..."? I'll thank you in advance for the great answers I'm sure to
> get! Incidentally, I'm using the Tyan 2460 twin MP unit that I
> intended to dismantle and part out! So I didn't burn all my
> bridges... but I can't believe that the Soyo decided today was a nice
> day to die.
>
> Mike


If you cleared the cmos with the jumper, check the Fan off Control
setting in the PC Health Screen. Set it to disabled and see if that
helps.

Andy

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
captmikey@hotpotato.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-01-2005, 01:14 PM
Andy...

Since I can't post, or boot, I can't get to the BIOS to do anything
because the monitor is pitch black... the power on LED on th monitor
is blinking like there's no video signal. I'm thinking it has to be
some sort of hardware issue right on the board or maybe the Enermax
power supply. Couple of questions/comments I have:

1. What would be the minimum hardware to prove out the system is OK
and the board/PS aren't kaput? IOW... mobo, video card, monitor,
keyboard, mouse, powersupply, memory.

2. Both the fans (back and bottom) spin up just fine when I power up
the board. I get one short beep, a pause, then a long, continuous
beep till it shuts down on its own. The motherboard fan, video card
fan, CPU fan, and two case fans also spin up fine.

3. The green LED on the board is lit. Would there be any kind of
light code indicating a (specific) problem?

Maybe I should pull the board and PS out of the case and try to get
this on a bench so I can make sure that there's no shorting the
motherboard... although why it would develop a short when it's still
in the case after 3 years of no hiccups is beyond me.

Mike


On 30 Apr 2005 18:27:07 -0700, "AndyC" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
>(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
>> I'm trying to consolidate space in my basement and was going to do a
>> minor rebuild on my "faithful" old Soyo Dragon+ by installing a new
>> 120 GIg slave drive and reformatting the root 45 Gig unit... then I'd
>> do a fresh install of W2K. Its been running just fine with two (2)

>45
>> gig drives, two CD drives, and one zip100 IDE.
>>
>> I figured I'd do this nice, got out my small vacumn and put the
>> mini-pc nozzles on and cleaned out all the lint and dog hair so

>the
>> inside of the case/mobo looked like new. Connected up the new HDD as
>> a 2nd slave, formatted it and started to transfer files. Decided to
>> pull Slave #1 out, and reboot with the root drive and the 120 Gig
>> slave #3. She won't boot guys. Putting it all back together didn't
>> get a boot/post either.
>>
>> I removed all PCI cards, cables, re-set the CMOS to default using the
>> jumper, re-seated both the video AGP and the memory, and she still
>> won't post. All I get is a startup, everything is spinning, then a
>> long beep, and it shuts down by itself within 5 seconds or so.

>Soyo's
>> FAQs say that I should re-seat the memory and video and thats why I
>> did that. All the fans are connected and spin up when I power on.
>> But no post. I'm at my wits end. Is there any way to detect a

>short?
>>
>> Anyone here have a "EUREKA" or "YOU DUMMY... ALL YOU HAVE TO DO
>> IS..."? I'll thank you in advance for the great answers I'm sure to
>> get! Incidentally, I'm using the Tyan 2460 twin MP unit that I
>> intended to dismantle and part out! So I didn't burn all my
>> bridges... but I can't believe that the Soyo decided today was a nice
>> day to die.
>>
>> Mike

>
>If you cleared the cmos with the jumper, check the Fan off Control
>setting in the PC Health Screen. Set it to disabled and see if that
>helps.
>
>Andy


 
Reply With Quote
 
f/fgeorge
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-01-2005, 11:10 PM
On Sun, 01 May 2005 09:14:40 -0400, (E-Mail Removed) wrote:


>2. Both the fans (back and bottom) spin up just fine when I power up
>the board. I get one short beep, a pause, then a long, continuous
>beep till it shuts down on its own. The motherboard fan, video card
>fan, CPU fan, and two case fans also spin up fine.
>

1 long and 1 short beep can mean that the clock speed is set too fast,
check the jumpers.


 
Reply With Quote
 
captmikey@hotpotato.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-01-2005, 11:30 PM
If it was running fine yesterday morning, and all I did was pull the
drive carrier and add a third drive. Never touched the jumpers and I
don't think this board has any dips that might've got messed with.

I did try another PS and get the same result, no display, no post, and
it dies after about 5 seconds. Basically getting one long beep unless
I reset the CMOS and then I get; One Short Beep first, then a long
beep second.

Mike

On Sun, 01 May 2005 23:10:02 GMT, f/fgeorge <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:

>On Sun, 01 May 2005 09:14:40 -0400, (E-Mail Removed) wrote:
>
>
>>2. Both the fans (back and bottom) spin up just fine when I power up
>>the board. I get one short beep, a pause, then a long, continuous
>>beep till it shuts down on its own. The motherboard fan, video card
>>fan, CPU fan, and two case fans also spin up fine.
>>

>1 long and 1 short beep can mean that the clock speed is set too fast,
>check the jumpers.
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
f/fgeorge
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-02-2005, 01:45 AM
On Sun, 01 May 2005 19:30:14 -0400, (E-Mail Removed) wrote:

>If it was running fine yesterday morning, and all I did was pull the
>drive carrier and add a third drive. Never touched the jumpers and I
>don't think this board has any dips that might've got messed with.
>
>I did try another PS and get the same result, no display, no post, and
>it dies after about 5 seconds. Basically getting one long beep unless
>I reset the CMOS and then I get; One Short Beep first, then a long
>beep second.
>
>Mike
>

Don't know then but I would start over by at the very least
disconnecting the drive and setting the drive jumpers back the way
they were and see if the machine boots and works okay. If so then you
now that something is wrong with the way the drive is interacting with
the system. Either the drive is bad, the drive jumpers are bad, or you
are not putting it in right. Process of elimination.

 
Reply With Quote
 
AndyC
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-02-2005, 01:05 PM

f/fgeorge wrote:
> On Sun, 01 May 2005 19:30:14 -0400, (E-Mail Removed) wrote:
>
> >If it was running fine yesterday morning, and all I did was pull the
> >drive carrier and add a third drive. Never touched the jumpers and

I
> >don't think this board has any dips that might've got messed with.
> >
> >I did try another PS and get the same result, no display, no post,

and
> >it dies after about 5 seconds. Basically getting one long beep

unless
> >I reset the CMOS and then I get; One Short Beep first, then a long
> >beep second.
> >
> >Mike
> >

> Don't know then but I would start over by at the very least
> disconnecting the drive and setting the drive jumpers back the way
> they were and see if the machine boots and works okay. If so then you
> now that something is wrong with the way the drive is interacting

with
> the system. Either the drive is bad, the drive jumpers are bad, or

you
> are not putting it in right. Process of elimination.





You can try with just the cpu chip, 1 stick of ram and a video card
installed, nothing else connected. Hold down the insert key on the
keyboard and apply power while holding down the key. That
will bypass all cmos setting including the FOC and if the board is
OK, it will post. If it does, you can then go into bios and reset
your options.

Andy

 
Reply With Quote
 
captmikey@hotpotato.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-04-2005, 03:55 AM
Andy... I'll give that a try tomorrow. I had my son test the memory
stick in his desktop machine and it worked just fine. So I know the
problem is isolated to the motherboard and not the memory, video card,
or power supply. I also tried two different keyboards and mice.

Mike


On 2 May 2005 06:05:00 -0700, "AndyC" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>You can try with just the cpu chip, 1 stick of ram and a video card
>installed, nothing else connected. Hold down the insert key on the
>keyboard and apply power while holding down the key. That
>will bypass all cmos setting including the FOC and if the board is
>OK, it will post. If it does, you can then go into bios and reset
>your options.
>
>Andy


 
Reply With Quote
 
AndyC
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-04-2005, 01:53 PM

(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
> Andy... I'll give that a try tomorrow. I had my son test the memory
> stick in his desktop machine and it worked just fine. So I know the
> problem is isolated to the motherboard and not the memory, video

card,
> or power supply. I also tried two different keyboards and mice.
>
> Mike


While you're inside the case, have a look at the large caps mounted
around the ram and cpu sockets. Over time, the tops will start to
bulge or they may leak black goo from the bottoms. Common problem
with K7V boards that are 2+ years old.

Andy

 
Reply With Quote
 
captmikey@hotpotato.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-05-2005, 01:36 AM
Hey Andy...

Thanks for all the help. I just pieced the minimum together, held the
INS button, and she posted. So I have to believe something either
wasn't seated (go figure because I did it 25X) or it just needed a
complete teardown.

I'm going to pack all the cards back in, and then the drives.
Hopefully, my worries are over. Famous last words.

But thanks for hangin'in there with me.

Mike


On 4 May 2005 06:53:08 -0700, "AndyC" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
>(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
>> Andy... I'll give that a try tomorrow. I had my son test the memory
>> stick in his desktop machine and it worked just fine. So I know the
>> problem is isolated to the motherboard and not the memory, video

>card,
>> or power supply. I also tried two different keyboards and mice.
>>
>> Mike

>
>While you're inside the case, have a look at the large caps mounted
>around the ram and cpu sockets. Over time, the tops will start to
>bulge or they may leak black goo from the bottoms. Common problem
>with K7V boards that are 2+ years old.
>
>Andy


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monitor out / video out cable on notebook video out joe smith Matrox 1 06-21-2004 06:17 PM
Asus K7V Rev 1.01 MB problem Dan Denton Asus 1 04-03-2004 10:36 PM
K7V MB and odd USB device behavior Robert A. Trifiletti, Jr. Asus 0 12-22-2003 07:08 PM
ASUS PC Probe can't be installed on K7V-133A Oliver Römisch Asus 3 12-09-2003 03:24 PM
Graphics card for a K7V Wal Asus 1 11-16-2003 10:51 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment