Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Issues with adding extra drive to my dell 3000.

 
 
htmark98
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-07-2006, 12:51 PM
Hi i'm having a few issues with the installation of my new HDD. I have
installed a new 160gb samsung drive with a brand new 2 way ide cable
and added the power cable.

The main drive is set to master and the 2nd drive is set to slave. It
loaded fine and formated the HDD straight away. So got around adding my
music collection to this drive from my C drive. But when i go into
either media player or winamp the songs skip alot and are very poor.
This did not happen on the C drive.

So went into the device manager and selected the settings for the
drive.

Main Drive Ultra DMA 5
Slave drive Ultra DMA 2

I have tried setting them both as cable select but still no joy. Anyone
know what is going wrong here and what i can do to fix it please.

Thanks for your time.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
WSZsr
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-07-2006, 01:16 PM
Enable the second drive in your BIOS. BTW, both drives should be cabled for
Cable Select. The drive at the end of the cable will be the master.


"htmark98" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
> Hi i'm having a few issues with the installation of my new HDD. I have
> installed a new 160gb samsung drive with a brand new 2 way ide cable
> and added the power cable.
>
> The main drive is set to master and the 2nd drive is set to slave. It
> loaded fine and formated the HDD straight away. So got around adding my
> music collection to this drive from my C drive. But when i go into
> either media player or winamp the songs skip alot and are very poor.
> This did not happen on the C drive.
>
> So went into the device manager and selected the settings for the
> drive.
>
> Main Drive Ultra DMA 5
> Slave drive Ultra DMA 2
>
> I have tried setting them both as cable select but still no joy. Anyone
> know what is going wrong here and what i can do to fix it please.
>
> Thanks for your time.
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Tom Scales
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-07-2006, 06:45 PM
He's right. The problem is the drive is still OFF in the BIOS. Needs to be
AUTO. In OFF, it works, but in UDMA 2 (PIO) mode.

He's also right about Cable Select.


"WSZsr" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:K2HBg.7888$(E-Mail Removed) m...
> Enable the second drive in your BIOS. BTW, both drives should be cabled
> for Cable Select. The drive at the end of the cable will be the master.
>
>
> "htmark98" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>> Hi i'm having a few issues with the installation of my new HDD. I have
>> installed a new 160gb samsung drive with a brand new 2 way ide cable
>> and added the power cable.
>>
>> The main drive is set to master and the 2nd drive is set to slave. It
>> loaded fine and formated the HDD straight away. So got around adding my
>> music collection to this drive from my C drive. But when i go into
>> either media player or winamp the songs skip alot and are very poor.
>> This did not happen on the C drive.
>>
>> So went into the device manager and selected the settings for the
>> drive.
>>
>> Main Drive Ultra DMA 5
>> Slave drive Ultra DMA 2
>>
>> I have tried setting them both as cable select but still no joy. Anyone
>> know what is going wrong here and what i can do to fix it please.
>>
>> Thanks for your time.
>>

>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
BigJim
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-08-2006, 04:39 PM
I had an issue with two newer drives, I could not get the second drive to
work.
I had the main drive set to master and secondary to slave. What I discovered
was
the main drive had two master settings. One for a stand alone and one for
master with a slave.
As soon as I changed the jumpers to master with slave all was fine. Also
like the other posters have suggested check your bios and make sure the
drive is being recognized.
"htmark98" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
> Hi i'm having a few issues with the installation of my new HDD. I have
> installed a new 160gb samsung drive with a brand new 2 way ide cable
> and added the power cable.
>
> The main drive is set to master and the 2nd drive is set to slave. It
> loaded fine and formated the HDD straight away. So got around adding my
> music collection to this drive from my C drive. But when i go into
> either media player or winamp the songs skip alot and are very poor.
> This did not happen on the C drive.
>
> So went into the device manager and selected the settings for the
> drive.
>
> Main Drive Ultra DMA 5
> Slave drive Ultra DMA 2
>
> I have tried setting them both as cable select but still no joy. Anyone
> know what is going wrong here and what i can do to fix it please.
>
> Thanks for your time.
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Tom Scales
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-08-2006, 06:27 PM
But that's still wrong. All drives should be set to Cable Select in a Dell.
The drive on the end of the cable becomes the master and on the middle of
the cable becomes the slave.

What you did works, if it is on the right position in the cable, but is
technically incorrect.
"BigJim" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>I had an issue with two newer drives, I could not get the second drive to
>work.
> I had the main drive set to master and secondary to slave. What I
> discovered was
> the main drive had two master settings. One for a stand alone and one for
> master with a slave.
> As soon as I changed the jumpers to master with slave all was fine. Also
> like the other posters have suggested check your bios and make sure the
> drive is being recognized.
> "htmark98" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>> Hi i'm having a few issues with the installation of my new HDD. I have
>> installed a new 160gb samsung drive with a brand new 2 way ide cable
>> and added the power cable.
>>
>> The main drive is set to master and the 2nd drive is set to slave. It
>> loaded fine and formated the HDD straight away. So got around adding my
>> music collection to this drive from my C drive. But when i go into
>> either media player or winamp the songs skip alot and are very poor.
>> This did not happen on the C drive.
>>
>> So went into the device manager and selected the settings for the
>> drive.
>>
>> Main Drive Ultra DMA 5
>> Slave drive Ultra DMA 2
>>
>> I have tried setting them both as cable select but still no joy. Anyone
>> know what is going wrong here and what i can do to fix it please.
>>
>> Thanks for your time.
>>

>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Ben Myers
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-08-2006, 08:39 PM
Agreed... Ben Myers

On Tue, 08 Aug 2006 18:27:09 GMT, "Tom Scales" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>But that's still wrong. All drives should be set to Cable Select in a Dell.
>The drive on the end of the cable becomes the master and on the middle of
>the cable becomes the slave.
>
>What you did works, if it is on the right position in the cable, but is
>technically incorrect.
>"BigJim" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>>I had an issue with two newer drives, I could not get the second drive to
>>work.
>> I had the main drive set to master and secondary to slave. What I
>> discovered was
>> the main drive had two master settings. One for a stand alone and one for
>> master with a slave.
>> As soon as I changed the jumpers to master with slave all was fine. Also
>> like the other posters have suggested check your bios and make sure the
>> drive is being recognized.
>> "htmark98" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>> news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
>>> Hi i'm having a few issues with the installation of my new HDD. I have
>>> installed a new 160gb samsung drive with a brand new 2 way ide cable
>>> and added the power cable.
>>>
>>> The main drive is set to master and the 2nd drive is set to slave. It
>>> loaded fine and formated the HDD straight away. So got around adding my
>>> music collection to this drive from my C drive. But when i go into
>>> either media player or winamp the songs skip alot and are very poor.
>>> This did not happen on the C drive.
>>>
>>> So went into the device manager and selected the settings for the
>>> drive.
>>>
>>> Main Drive Ultra DMA 5
>>> Slave drive Ultra DMA 2
>>>
>>> I have tried setting them both as cable select but still no joy. Anyone
>>> know what is going wrong here and what i can do to fix it please.
>>>
>>> Thanks for your time.
>>>

>>
>>

>


 
Reply With Quote
 
S.Lewis
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-08-2006, 08:45 PM

"Ben Myers" <ben_myers_spam_me_not @ charter.net> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> Agreed... Ben Myers
>



Word up on the jumpers.


(g)


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with adding extra drive to my dell 3000. htmark98 Dell 1 08-07-2006 01:12 PM
Adding extra drives to HP DL380 G4 Dr Zoidberg HP 3 04-14-2006 01:59 AM
Does a an Extra USB PCI Card Take More Reources than Adding a Hub? JB Asus 9 12-08-2005 10:42 AM
GA-8ihxp ADDING AN EXTRA HARD DRIVE DavidM Gigabyte 0 09-16-2004 03:46 PM
Adding extra hard disk to HP Brio Bax Sverre Medalen HP 1 10-02-2003 12:55 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment