Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Repeated Installations of Flash Player on Win 7

 
 
CJB
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-29-2010, 04:52 PM
Sorry - I can't find any Win 7 newsgroups. Please can someone advise
as to the best for the following. Thank you - CJB.

I have Win 7 (Starter) on a new Acer Aspire One 532. My main (and
only) login id is for me which also has admin. privileges.

However I do have to repeatedly install Flash Player 10 in order to
view clips on YouTube, BBC and my own web site.

Once installed - via the Adobe Download Manager - all clips play OK.
If I close the lid and the netbook hibernates, and then when I open it
up again, all is well.

However if there is a Windows update, or if I do a restart / reboot,
Flash Player gets uninstalled, or maybe Win 7 just forgets that it has
been installed. Then I have to go through the whole download process
to re-reinstall it until the next time.

This is the only application that exhibits this behaviour. But I do
use it a lot. All other apps. once installed seem to remain available
for use without fail.

So why is Flash Player such a problem, and what can I do to 'fix' its
installation once and for all?

Thank you - Chris Brady.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-29-2010, 07:02 PM
In
news:(E-Mail Removed),
CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 09:52:12 -0700 (PDT):
> Sorry - I can't find any Win 7 newsgroups. Please can someone advise
> as to the best for the following. Thank you - CJB.
>
> I have Win 7 (Starter) on a new Acer Aspire One 532. My main (and
> only) login id is for me which also has admin. privileges.
>
> However I do have to repeatedly install Flash Player 10 in order to
> view clips on YouTube, BBC and my own web site.
>
> Once installed - via the Adobe Download Manager - all clips play OK.
> If I close the lid and the netbook hibernates, and then when I open it
> up again, all is well.
>
> However if there is a Windows update, or if I do a restart / reboot,
> Flash Player gets uninstalled, or maybe Win 7 just forgets that it has
> been installed. Then I have to go through the whole download process
> to re-reinstall it until the next time.
>
> This is the only application that exhibits this behaviour. But I do
> use it a lot. All other apps. once installed seem to remain available
> for use without fail.
>
> So why is Flash Player such a problem, and what can I do to 'fix' its
> installation once and for all?
>
> Thank you - Chris Brady.


That is weird Chris. Does IE8 show it listed as an addon? Have you tried
other browsers like Firefox? I don't know, IE8 might be protecting
itself from allowing addons to stay installed? Another thing I would try
is to install Flash v9 instead.

http://www.oldapps.com/flash_player.php

--
Bill
Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
CJB
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-29-2010, 10:41 PM
On Apr 29, 8:02*pm, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Innews:(E-Mail Removed),
> CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 09:52:12 -0700 (PDT):
>
>
>
>
>
> > Sorry - I can't find any Win 7 newsgroups. Please can someone advise
> > as to the best for the following. Thank you - CJB.

>
> > I have Win 7 (Starter) on a new Acer Aspire One 532. My main (and
> > only) login id is for me which also has admin. privileges.

>
> > However I do have to repeatedly install Flash Player 10 in order to
> > view clips on YouTube, BBC and my own web site.

>
> > Once installed - via the Adobe Download Manager - all clips play OK.
> > If I close the lid and the netbook hibernates, and then when I open it
> > up again, all is well.

>
> > However if there is a Windows update, or if I do a restart / reboot,
> > Flash Player gets uninstalled, or maybe Win 7 just forgets that it has
> > been installed. Then I have to go through the whole download process
> > to re-reinstall it until the next time.

>
> > This is the only application that exhibits this behaviour. But I do
> > use it a lot. All other apps. once installed seem to remain available
> > for use without fail.

>
> > So why is Flash Player such a problem, and what can I do to 'fix' its
> > installation once and for all?

>
> > Thank you - Chris Brady.

>
> That is weird Chris. Does IE8 show it listed as an addon? Have you tried
> other browsers like Firefox? I don't know, IE8 might be protecting
> itself from allowing addons to stay installed? Another thing I would try
> is to install Flash v9 instead.
>
> http://www.oldapps.com/flash_player.php
>
> --
> Bill
> Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -


Thank you for the hints. I have tried Flash 9 - but YouTube and BBC
all complain that its out-of-date. So Flash 10 it has to be. This
doesn't happen with XP SP3 on my laptop. It seems to be a thing with
Win 7. I will try to see if Foxfire etc. are also effected. Chris B.
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-29-2010, 11:06 PM
In
news:(E-Mail Removed),
CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 15:41:47 -0700 (PDT):
> Thank you for the hints. I have tried Flash 9 - but YouTube and BBC
> all complain that its out-of-date. So Flash 10 it has to be.


Hello Chris! Do they complain, but still work? A lot of websites
complain about using older versions but you can still continue and it
still works most of the time.

> This doesn't happen with XP SP3 on my laptop. It seems to be a thing
> with Win 7.


That could be, IDK.

> I will try to see if Foxfire etc. are also effected. Chris B.


Firefox requires a different Flash install. The one for IE won't work
with Firefox. So to have both working, you need two Flash players
installs. Using Firefox on a website that needs Flash should tell you
what you need to do. Just like websites when using IE.

--
Bill
Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2


 
Reply With Quote
 
CJB
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-30-2010, 08:11 AM
On Apr 30, 12:06*am, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> Innews:(E-Mail Removed),
> CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 15:41:47 -0700 (PDT):
>
> > Thank you for the hints. I have tried Flash 9 - but YouTube and BBC
> > all complain that its out-of-date. So Flash 10 it has to be.

>
> Hello Chris! Do they complain, but still work? A lot of websites
> complain about using older versions but you can still continue and it
> still works most of the time.
>
> > This doesn't happen with XP SP3 on my laptop. It seems to be a thing
> > with Win 7.

>
> That could be, IDK.
>
> > I will try to see if Foxfire etc. are also effected. Chris B.

>
> Firefox requires a different Flash install. The one for IE won't work
> with Firefox. So to have both working, you need two Flash players
> installs. Using Firefox on a website that needs Flash should tell you
> what you need to do. Just like websites when using IE.
>
> --
> Bill
> Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2


Thanks again for your help and interest. I've tested all on my laptop
with XP using Safari, Chrome, Opera, Firefox, and IE8. All works
perfectly.

Now I have to download the other browsers to my netbook. This requires
a visit to Pret or McD to use their web connections for free.

Chris B.
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-30-2010, 06:11 PM
In
news:(E-Mail Removed),
CJB typed on Fri, 30 Apr 2010 01:11:12 -0700 (PDT):
> Thanks again for your help and interest. I've tested all on my laptop
> with XP using Safari, Chrome, Opera, Firefox, and IE8. All works
> perfectly.
>
> Now I have to download the other browsers to my netbook. This requires
> a visit to Pret or McD to use their web connections for free.


Hello Chris. Please keep us updated. And say, how do you like Win 7
(Starter) anyway?

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2 (quit Windows updates back in May 2009)



 
Reply With Quote
 
ken10254
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-01-2010, 02:44 AM
On Apr 30, 3:11*am, CJB <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> On Apr 30, 12:06*am, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>
>
> > Innews:(E-Mail Removed),
> > CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 15:41:47 -0700 (PDT):

>
> > > Thank you for the hints. I have tried Flash 9 - but YouTube and BBC
> > > all complain that its out-of-date. So Flash 10 it has to be.

>
> > Hello Chris! Do they complain, but still work? A lot of websites
> > complain about using older versions but you can still continue and it
> > still works most of the time.

>
> > > This doesn't happen with XP SP3 on my laptop. It seems to be a thing
> > > with Win 7.

>
> > That could be, IDK.

>
> > > I will try to see if Foxfire etc. are also effected. Chris B.

>
> > Firefox requires a different Flash install. The one for IE won't work
> > with Firefox. So to have both working, you need two Flash players
> > installs. Using Firefox on a website that needs Flash should tell you
> > what you need to do. Just like websites when using IE.

>
> > --
> > Bill
> > Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2

>
> Thanks again for your help and interest. I've tested all on my laptop
> with XP using Safari, Chrome, Opera, Firefox, and IE8. All works
> perfectly.
>
> Now I have to download the other browsers to my netbook. This requires
> a visit to Pret or McD to use their web connections for free.
>
> Chris B.


Have you tried installing flash by right clicking on the .exe and
installing using administrator privileges? I think it is "run as
administrator" in the right click content list. I have had to do this
on some programs to get them to install correctly. Worth a try. Also,
try the flash betas that are available. Maybe they will install better
for you.
Good luck.
 
Reply With Quote
 
CJB
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-10-2010, 10:02 AM
On May 1, 3:44*am, ken10254 <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> On Apr 30, 3:11*am, CJB <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>
>
>
>
> > On Apr 30, 12:06*am, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
> > > Innews:(E-Mail Removed),
> > > CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 15:41:47 -0700 (PDT):

>
> > > > Thank you for the hints. I have tried Flash 9 - but YouTube and BBC
> > > > all complain that its out-of-date. So Flash 10 it has to be.

>
> > > Hello Chris! Do they complain, but still work? A lot of websites
> > > complain about using older versions but you can still continue and it
> > > still works most of the time.

>
> > > > This doesn't happen with XP SP3 on my laptop. It seems to be a thing
> > > > with Win 7.

>
> > > That could be, IDK.

>
> > > > I will try to see if Foxfire etc. are also effected. Chris B.

>
> > > Firefox requires a different Flash install. The one for IE won't work
> > > with Firefox. So to have both working, you need two Flash players
> > > installs. Using Firefox on a website that needs Flash should tell you
> > > what you need to do. Just like websites when using IE.

>
> > > --
> > > Bill
> > > Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2

>
> > Thanks again for your help and interest. I've tested all on my laptop
> > with XP using Safari, Chrome, Opera, Firefox, and IE8. All works
> > perfectly.

>
> > Now I have to download the other browsers to my netbook. This requires
> > a visit to Pret or McD to use their web connections for free.

>
> > Chris B.

>
> Have you tried installing flash by right clicking on the .exe and
> installing using administrator privileges? I think it is "run as
> administrator" in the right click content list. I have had to do this
> on some programs to get them to install correctly. Worth a try. Also,
> try the flash betas that are available. Maybe they will install better
> for you.
> Good luck.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -


OK I have tried everything advised and STILL I 'lose' the IE8 version
of Flash Player 10 after a reboot.

Firstly I removed entirely the pre-installed McAfee virus app.

I've ensured that I am in Admin. mode, I do a right mouse click and
install FP as Administrator.

I have removed FP 10 with the special app., manually deleted the
windows/system32/macromed folder - rebooted - and then re-installed FP
10.

I've checked the settings in IE8 Options and the FP add-on is enabled.

I can't use an earlier version of FP 'cos both YouTube and BBC
complain that it isn't the latest.

The version of FP for Firefox, Chrime, Safari and Opera all remain
installed - and working - all of the time.

Chris B.

P.S. Compared to XP I don't like Win 7. The latter is less intuitive
to use.
 
Reply With Quote
 
CJB
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-26-2010, 02:26 PM
On May 10, 11:02*am, CJB <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> On May 1, 3:44*am, ken10254 <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>
>
>
>
> > On Apr 30, 3:11*am, CJB <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
> > > On Apr 30, 12:06*am, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>
> > > > Innews:(E-Mail Removed),
> > > > CJB typed on Thu, 29 Apr 2010 15:41:47 -0700 (PDT):

>
> > > > > Thank you for the hints. I have triedFlash9 - but YouTube and BBC
> > > > > all complain that its out-of-date. SoFlash10it has to be.

>
> > > > Hello Chris! Do they complain, but still work? A lot of websites
> > > > complain about using older versions but you can still continue and it
> > > > still works most of the time.

>
> > > > > This doesn't happen with XP SP3 on my laptop. It seems to be a thing
> > > > > with Win 7.

>
> > > > That could be, IDK.

>
> > > > > I will try to see if Foxfire etc. are also effected. Chris B.

>
> > > > Firefox requires a differentFlashinstall. The one for IE won't work
> > > > with Firefox. So to have both working, you need twoFlashplayers
> > > > installs. Using Firefox on a website that needsFlashshould tell you
> > > > what you need to do. Just like websites when using IE.

>
> > > > --
> > > > Bill
> > > > Gateway MX6124 ('06 era) 1 of 3 - Windows XP SP2

>
> > > Thanks again for your help and interest. I've tested all on my laptop
> > > with XP using Safari, Chrome, Opera, Firefox, andIE8. All works
> > > perfectly.

>
> > > Now I have to download the other browsers to my netbook. This requires
> > > a visit to Pret or McD to use their web connections for free.

>
> > > Chris B.

>
> > Have you tried installingflashby right clicking on the .exe and
> > installing using administrator privileges? I think it is "run as
> > administrator" in the right click content list. I have had to do this
> > on some programs to get them to install correctly. Worth a try. Also,
> > try theflashbetas that are available. Maybe they will install better
> > for you.
> > Good luck.- Hide quoted text -

>
> > - Show quoted text -

>
> OK *I have tried everything advised and STILL I 'lose' theIE8version
> ofFlashPlayer10after a reboot.
>
> Firstly I removed entirely the pre-installed McAfee virus app.
>
> I've ensured that I am in Admin. mode, *I do a right mouse click and
> install FP as Administrator.
>
> I have removed FP10with the special app., manually deleted the
> windows/system32/macromed folder - rebooted - and then re-installed FP10.
>
> I've checked the settings inIE8Options and the FP add-on is enabled.
>
> I can't use an earlier version of FP 'cos both YouTube and BBC
> complain that it isn't the latest.
>
> The version of FP for Firefox, Chrime, Safari and Opera all remain
> installed - and working - all of the time.
>
> Chris B.
>
> P.S. Compared to XP I don't like Win 7. The latter is less intuitive
> to use.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -


I think that I can now categorically state that the cause of the
problem of repeated installs of FP 10 with IE8 running on Windows 7 is
Microsoft's 'User Account Control.' It was pre-installed on my Acer
netbook at one 'click' below the highest level.

Even if FP 10 was downloaded and installed for IE8 as an Add-on
rebooting or restarting Win 7 caused FP 10 to appear to get
uninstalled, although it was actually just removed from IE8's Add-on
list. Anything requiring FP 10 such as YouTube, BBC Live News or
custom SWP files would not then play when browsed by IE8. However the
FP 10 files were still extant and FP 10 was still installed - its just
that it got removed as an Add-on from IE8 by the UAC. If IE8 was
opened and FP 10 was left like this (installed on the PC but removed
as an Add-on), maybe whilst another browser was being used, it appears
that UAC would suddenly 'wake up' and ask if FP 10 should be
installed. Responding with a 'yes' it would be quickly be 'installed'
to IE8 but actually this only amounted to it being relinked as an Add-
on once again.

The 'solution' is to lower the UAC level to the lowest level - that is
to turn it off - but with the attendant risks. Rebooting / restarting
afterwards then has no effect on FP 10 and this remains a valid Add-on
for IE8, i.e. it does not appear to get 'uninstalled.'

The above solution also cures the need for repeated installations of
mobile broadband dongle s/w. Another irritation.

With regards to UAC on a one-user Acer netbook I think that it is
relatively safe to lower the level or even to close it with the
assumption that the sole user - presumably the owner - knows what he/
she is doing with regards to downloading and installing apps.

Chris J Brady

P.S. This issue has also been posted onto the Social Answers Forums at
Microsoft.com - however NO-ONE from MS or an MS MVP was knowledgeable
enough or could be bothered to research out the cause and respond to
concerns. Now Adobe and Microsoft need to get together and get a fix
out for this issue.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flash Video Player - DIY Web FLV Player with playerdiy.com stephen wong Gateway 0 10-10-2009 06:44 AM
Slipstreaming SP2 on 2 Dell XP installations Dell 16 10-16-2004 11:44 AM
Installations failed cat girl Apple 1 01-17-2004 03:26 PM
Help: Newbie to Serial ATA and P4 M/B installations Lionel Chin Motherboards 1 12-07-2003 09:20 PM
Word -- mulitiple installations meirman Dell 9 10-21-2003 07:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment