Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

How to reset a BIOS?

 
 
Happy Oyster
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-19-2010, 03:17 PM
Hi,

how can the parameters in an Asus L2400D setup can be reset? It has a wierd
keyboard setting.

Thanks


..
--
Charles Berliner: Geschichte der Annaëlle

http://www.ariplex.com/ama/ama_anna.htm
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Barry Watzman
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-19-2010, 07:52 PM
Are you SURE it's the BIOS and not Windows?

Normally, BIOS' have a reset function in them. Or, on a DESKTOP, remove
the CMOS battery with the machine unplugged and off (this does not work
on most laptops, however).


Happy Oyster wrote:
> Hi,
>
> how can the parameters in an Asus L2400D setup can be reset? It has a wierd
> keyboard setting.
>
> Thanks
>
>
> .

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Happy Oyster
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-19-2010, 08:13 PM
On Mon, 19 Apr 2010 15:52:03 -0400, Barry Watzman <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:

>Are you SURE it's the BIOS and not Windows?


Absolutely sure. I installed DOS. DOS boots, but suddenly I find the characters
are messed up.

Instead of "a" it is "A". That means that the character set is "shifted up".
That would make sense if shift lock were set. But it isn't.

Next: the characters on the cipher button line appear as "!", etc, but somehow
mixed up.

It took some twisted typing on the keybord with shift, shift lock, etc. until
normal case is back again.

The problem persist with each boot and power line disconnected.

With Linux (SuSE 11.2) dring boot 3 times an error message show up, the first
one complaining about "low memory...".


It is NOT the keyboard. An external keyboard show just the same.


I have never before seen such a thing.

..
--
Die volle Härte: http://www.kindersprechstunde.at
************************************************** *************
Die Medienmafia » Die Regividerm-Verschwörung
http://www.transgallaxys.com/~kanzle...?threadid=5710
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-19-2010, 10:13 PM
In news:(E-Mail Removed),
Happy Oyster typed on Mon, 19 Apr 2010 23:13:00 +0300:
> On Mon, 19 Apr 2010 15:52:03 -0400, Barry Watzman
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> Are you SURE it's the BIOS and not Windows?

>
> Absolutely sure. I installed DOS. DOS boots, but suddenly I find the
> characters are messed up.
>
> Instead of "a" it is "A". That means that the character set is
> "shifted up". That would make sense if shift lock were set. But it
> isn't.
>
> Next: the characters on the cipher button line appear as "!", etc,
> but somehow mixed up.
>
> It took some twisted typing on the keybord with shift, shift lock,
> etc. until normal case is back again.
>
> The problem persist with each boot and power line disconnected.
>
> With Linux (SuSE 11.2) dring boot 3 times an error message show up,
> the first one complaining about "low memory...".
>
>
> It is NOT the keyboard. An external keyboard show just the same.
>
>
> I have never before seen such a thing.


I have, on Asus laptops and netbooks. Don't mess with the BIOS or the
CMOS battery. Disconnect the AC, remove the main battery, and press and
hold the power button down for 10 seconds or longer. Replace the battery
(and the AC if you want). Now it should be just fine.

It that doesn't work, there should be a tiny hole that has a reset
button (make sure it isn't a mic hole if you have a built in mic). If
so, do the same except pressing the power button, press the reset button
instead (with a straighten paperclip). And you should be just fine.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2 (quit Windows updates back in May 2009)


 
Reply With Quote
 
Happy Oyster
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-19-2010, 11:51 PM
On Mon, 19 Apr 2010 17:13:01 -0500, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>In news:(E-Mail Removed),
>Happy Oyster typed on Mon, 19 Apr 2010 23:13:00 +0300:
>> On Mon, 19 Apr 2010 15:52:03 -0400, Barry Watzman
>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>>> Are you SURE it's the BIOS and not Windows?

>>
>> Absolutely sure. I installed DOS. DOS boots, but suddenly I find the
>> characters are messed up.
>>
>> Instead of "a" it is "A". That means that the character set is
>> "shifted up". That would make sense if shift lock were set. But it
>> isn't.
>>
>> Next: the characters on the cipher button line appear as "!", etc,
>> but somehow mixed up.
>>
>> It took some twisted typing on the keybord with shift, shift lock,
>> etc. until normal case is back again.
>>
>> The problem persist with each boot and power line disconnected.
>>
>> With Linux (SuSE 11.2) dring boot 3 times an error message show up,
>> the first one complaining about "low memory...".
>>
>>
>> It is NOT the keyboard. An external keyboard show just the same.
>>
>>
>> I have never before seen such a thing.

>
>I have, on Asus laptops and netbooks. Don't mess with the BIOS or the
>CMOS battery. Disconnect the AC, remove the main battery, and press and
>hold the power button down for 10 seconds or longer. Replace the battery
>(and the AC if you want). Now it should be just fine.
>
>It that doesn't work, there should be a tiny hole that has a reset
>button (make sure it isn't a mic hole if you have a built in mic). If
>so, do the same except pressing the power button, press the reset button
>instead (with a straighten paperclip). And you should be just fine.


I found no reset button.

The power supply battery is taken out. The power comes from the external supply.
The plug I pulled out. Does not change a thing.

There was a PCMCIA card with 2 USB connectors. When I had that in the notebook,
I installed IBM PC-DOS 7. That is back from 1994... It asked me if I wanted to
install PCMCIA support ("permanent"). As that perhaps would help me to use the
cards with DOS (so I hoped), I clicked "yes". Deinstalling the stuff did not
change a thing. I do not know WHERE it did WHAT. There is no description AND it
referenced to some IBM stuff I never had heard of before.

My first guess was that it had written some nonsense to the HDD (MBR or
somewhere else), so I reinstalled DOS and Linux from scratch. Did not help...

..
--
Die volle Härte: http://www.kindersprechstunde.at
************************************************** *************
Die Medienmafia » Die Regividerm-Verschwörung
http://www.transgallaxys.com/~kanzle...?threadid=5710
 
Reply With Quote
 
BillW50
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-20-2010, 01:20 PM
In news(E-Mail Removed),
Happy Oyster typed on Tue, 20 Apr 2010 02:51:17 +0300:
> I found no reset button.
>
> The power supply battery is taken out. The power comes from the
> external supply. The plug I pulled out. Does not change a thing.
>
> There was a PCMCIA card with 2 USB connectors. When I had that in the
> notebook, I installed IBM PC-DOS 7. That is back from 1994... It
> asked me if I wanted to install PCMCIA support ("permanent"). As that
> perhaps would help me to use the cards with DOS (so I hoped), I
> clicked "yes". Deinstalling the stuff did not change a thing. I do
> not know WHERE it did WHAT. There is no description AND it referenced
> to some IBM stuff I never had heard of before.
>
> My first guess was that it had written some nonsense to the HDD (MBR
> or somewhere else), so I reinstalled DOS and Linux from scratch. Did
> not help...


Well it is possible that something is written to the boot drive to
change the keyboard layout I suppose. But you could prove that by
booting something else from floppy, CD/DVD, or flash, or other USB
drive.

Without any reset button. It can be a tiny hole on the bottom of the
laptop, btw. There should be two CMOS reset pads on the motherboard. You
shouldn't have to disassemble anything. As you should be able to see it
by removing one of the trap doors on the bottom of the laptop. And just
short the two pads together with the main battery and the AC removed. No
need to remove the CMOS/RTC battery either.

--
Bill
Asus EEE PC 701G4 ~ 2GB RAM ~ 16GB-SDHC
Windows XP SP2 (quit Windows updates back in May 2009)


 
Reply With Quote
 
Happy Oyster
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      04-20-2010, 01:29 PM
On Tue, 20 Apr 2010 08:20:49 -0500, "BillW50" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:


>Without any reset button. It can be a tiny hole on the bottom of the
>laptop, btw. There should be two CMOS reset pads on the motherboard. You
>shouldn't have to disassemble anything. As you should be able to see it
>by removing one of the trap doors on the bottom of the laptop. And just
>short the two pads together with the main battery and the AC removed. No
>need to remove the CMOS/RTC battery either.


There is no such hole to be found. It is a L2400D.

What would the reset do? Reset the CMOS?
--
Die volle Härte: http://www.kindersprechstunde.at
************************************************** *************
Die Medienmafia » Die Regividerm-Verschwörung
http://www.transgallaxys.com/~kanzle...?threadid=5710
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reset Switch GND, RESET#, brown, white Skybuck Flying Asus 8 05-27-2011 06:12 AM
Reset Switch GND, RESET#, brown, white Skybuck Flying Nvidia 7 05-27-2011 06:12 AM
Re: use reset-nvram to reset modem? Ilgaz Apple 0 04-30-2005 08:26 PM
Re: use reset-nvram to reset modem? Clark Martin Apple 0 04-26-2005 04:41 AM
Re: use reset-nvram to reset modem? Ilgaz Apple 0 04-24-2005 11:13 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment