Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

SY-K7V Dragon Plus Bios Upgrades

 
 
Electro Brain
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      02-24-2005, 09:04 PM
Do any of the BIOS upgrades work? I wanted to put new 200 gig
hard drive in my system, so I upgraded the BIOS to b6. Windows
XP became very unstable, constantly crashing or locking up.

I tried b7 also and the same thing. What is wrong with these
BIOS upgrades? (I did clear the CMOS after flashing).

Has anyone successfully upgraded to the newest BIOS versions?
What is wrong with Soyo? Do they realize that their software
does not work?

eb


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
SleeperMan
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      02-25-2005, 09:04 PM
Electro Brain wrote:
> Do any of the BIOS upgrades work? I wanted to put new 200 gig
> hard drive in my system, so I upgraded the BIOS to b6. Windows
> XP became very unstable, constantly crashing or locking up.
>
> I tried b7 also and the same thing. What is wrong with these
> BIOS upgrades? (I did clear the CMOS after flashing).
>
> Has anyone successfully upgraded to the newest BIOS versions?
> What is wrong with Soyo? Do they realize that their software
> does not work?
>
> eb


you should upgrade only to those versions which are listed under SOYO
downloads. then only to latest ones. SO, if you have tbred CPU, get ver 9,
if not get ver 7. I succesfully ran even ver 8, which was removed from d/l
list, now i have ver 9 and it's OK. Do you have two RAM modules by any
chance? If so, this is the reason for your instability.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Electro Brain
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      02-25-2005, 11:26 PM

"SleeperMan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:xpMTd.9560$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Electro Brain wrote:
>> Do any of the BIOS upgrades work? I wanted to put new 200 gig
>> hard drive in my system, so I upgraded the BIOS to b6. Windows
>> XP became very unstable, constantly crashing or locking up.
>>
>> I tried b7 also and the same thing. What is wrong with these
>> BIOS upgrades? (I did clear the CMOS after flashing).
>>
>> Has anyone successfully upgraded to the newest BIOS versions?
>> What is wrong with Soyo? Do they realize that their software
>> does not work?
>>
>> eb

>
> you should upgrade only to those versions which are listed under SOYO
> downloads. then only to latest ones. SO, if you have tbred CPU, get ver 9,
> if not get ver 7. I succesfully ran even ver 8, which was removed from d/l
> list, now i have ver 9 and it's OK. Do you have two RAM modules by any
> chance? If so, this is the reason for your instability.
>


Yes, I have two RAM modules, but I have had those since I put the
system together and it has been very stable.

Do the later BIOS versions have a problem with two SIMMs that the
earlier versions didn't?

Also, how to you put a Thunderbird core CPU in, I thought it supported
the Palamino only?


 
Reply With Quote
 
SleeperMan
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      02-26-2005, 12:44 PM
Electro Brain wrote:
> "SleeperMan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:xpMTd.9560$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> Electro Brain wrote:
>>> Do any of the BIOS upgrades work? I wanted to put new 200 gig
>>> hard drive in my system, so I upgraded the BIOS to b6. Windows
>>> XP became very unstable, constantly crashing or locking up.
>>>
>>> I tried b7 also and the same thing. What is wrong with these
>>> BIOS upgrades? (I did clear the CMOS after flashing).
>>>
>>> Has anyone successfully upgraded to the newest BIOS versions?
>>> What is wrong with Soyo? Do they realize that their software
>>> does not work?
>>>
>>> eb

>>
>> you should upgrade only to those versions which are listed under SOYO
>> downloads. then only to latest ones. SO, if you have tbred CPU, get
>> ver 9, if not get ver 7. I succesfully ran even ver 8, which was
>> removed from d/l list, now i have ver 9 and it's OK. Do you have two
>> RAM modules by any chance? If so, this is the reason for your
>> instability.

>
> Yes, I have two RAM modules, but I have had those since I put the
> system together and it has been very stable.
>
> Do the later BIOS versions have a problem with two SIMMs that the
> earlier versions didn't?
>
> Also, how to you put a Thunderbird core CPU in, I thought it supported
> the Palamino only?


Many, if not all users did have problems when using two ram modules...
although i did hear that one option is to try put them in slots 1 and 3 and
leave middle one empty. But, best option is to replace two RAM's with one...
I know i put two modules in and PC ran fine, but i noticed when burning ANY
CDR, it burned fine, while data was corrupted...very strange, but true. But,
generally many resellers would exchange two modules with one bigger, for
maybe very small amount.

This board does support tbred, but only if you apply the mod - this means
some soldering skills...you must add one capacitor and remove one. if you
intend to do it, i can send you more detailed info, but i doubt you'll
still get any 133 MHz based CPU out there...but if you do, i was told that
2400 was the biggest, since 2600 was quickly out of production. I made this
change and my PC works fine now with 2400+, and i run it on 140MHz fsb, so
it shows as 2600+.


 
Reply With Quote
 
Electro Brain
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      02-27-2005, 11:40 PM
Before restoring my BIOS to the old version (v3, current v7) I thought
I would poke around a bit. I noticed that the settings for the memory
was set to "Manual." I don't remember what the exact manual settings were,
but I changed it from "Manual" to "by SPD," which reads the setting from
the SIMMs, and my system is running very solid again.

I've done some soldering, but not enough to trust myself on the motherboard,
so I'll stick with my current CPU.

I just wish Half Life 2 would run a little better!


"SleeperMan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:xa_Td.9575$(E-Mail Removed)...
> Electro Brain wrote:
>> "SleeperMan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>> news:xpMTd.9560$(E-Mail Removed)...
>>> Electro Brain wrote:
>>>> Do any of the BIOS upgrades work? I wanted to put new 200 gig
>>>> hard drive in my system, so I upgraded the BIOS to b6. Windows
>>>> XP became very unstable, constantly crashing or locking up.
>>>>
>>>> I tried b7 also and the same thing. What is wrong with these
>>>> BIOS upgrades? (I did clear the CMOS after flashing).
>>>>
>>>> Has anyone successfully upgraded to the newest BIOS versions?
>>>> What is wrong with Soyo? Do they realize that their software
>>>> does not work?
>>>>
>>>> eb
>>>
>>> you should upgrade only to those versions which are listed under SOYO
>>> downloads. then only to latest ones. SO, if you have tbred CPU, get
>>> ver 9, if not get ver 7. I succesfully ran even ver 8, which was
>>> removed from d/l list, now i have ver 9 and it's OK. Do you have two
>>> RAM modules by any chance? If so, this is the reason for your
>>> instability.

>>
>> Yes, I have two RAM modules, but I have had those since I put the
>> system together and it has been very stable.
>>
>> Do the later BIOS versions have a problem with two SIMMs that the
>> earlier versions didn't?
>>
>> Also, how to you put a Thunderbird core CPU in, I thought it supported
>> the Palamino only?

>
> Many, if not all users did have problems when using two ram modules...
> although i did hear that one option is to try put them in slots 1 and 3
> and leave middle one empty. But, best option is to replace two RAM's with
> one... I know i put two modules in and PC ran fine, but i noticed when
> burning ANY CDR, it burned fine, while data was corrupted...very strange,
> but true. But, generally many resellers would exchange two modules with
> one bigger, for maybe very small amount.
>
> This board does support tbred, but only if you apply the mod - this means
> some soldering skills...you must add one capacitor and remove one. if you
> intend to do it, i can send you more detailed info, but i doubt you'll
> still get any 133 MHz based CPU out there...but if you do, i was told that
> 2400 was the biggest, since 2600 was quickly out of production. I made
> this change and my PC works fine now with 2400+, and i run it on 140MHz
> fsb, so it shows as 2600+.
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
SleeperMan
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      02-28-2005, 06:45 PM
Electro Brain wrote:
> Before restoring my BIOS to the old version (v3, current v7) I thought
> I would poke around a bit. I noticed that the settings for the memory
> was set to "Manual." I don't remember what the exact manual settings
> were, but I changed it from "Manual" to "by SPD," which reads the
> setting from the SIMMs, and my system is running very solid again.
>
> I've done some soldering, but not enough to trust myself on the
> motherboard, so I'll stick with my current CPU.
>
> I just wish Half Life 2 would run a little better!
>



Well, what can i say...good luck and a new mobo soon...
BTW...try to set your FSB frequency to 140 MHz instead to default 133 - it
will speed up your PC and it won't hurt...it's in COMBO part of BIOS.

>
> "SleeperMan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:xa_Td.9575$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> Electro Brain wrote:
>>> "SleeperMan" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>>> news:xpMTd.9560$(E-Mail Removed)...
>>>> Electro Brain wrote:
>>>>> Do any of the BIOS upgrades work? I wanted to put new 200 gig
>>>>> hard drive in my system, so I upgraded the BIOS to b6. Windows
>>>>> XP became very unstable, constantly crashing or locking up.
>>>>>
>>>>> I tried b7 also and the same thing. What is wrong with these
>>>>> BIOS upgrades? (I did clear the CMOS after flashing).
>>>>>
>>>>> Has anyone successfully upgraded to the newest BIOS versions?
>>>>> What is wrong with Soyo? Do they realize that their software
>>>>> does not work?
>>>>>
>>>>> eb
>>>>
>>>> you should upgrade only to those versions which are listed under
>>>> SOYO downloads. then only to latest ones. SO, if you have tbred
>>>> CPU, get ver 9, if not get ver 7. I succesfully ran even ver 8,
>>>> which was removed from d/l list, now i have ver 9 and it's OK. Do
>>>> you have two RAM modules by any chance? If so, this is the reason
>>>> for your instability.
>>>
>>> Yes, I have two RAM modules, but I have had those since I put the
>>> system together and it has been very stable.
>>>
>>> Do the later BIOS versions have a problem with two SIMMs that the
>>> earlier versions didn't?
>>>
>>> Also, how to you put a Thunderbird core CPU in, I thought it
>>> supported the Palamino only?

>>
>> Many, if not all users did have problems when using two ram
>> modules... although i did hear that one option is to try put them in
>> slots 1 and 3 and leave middle one empty. But, best option is to
>> replace two RAM's with one... I know i put two modules in and PC ran
>> fine, but i noticed when burning ANY CDR, it burned fine, while data
>> was corrupted...very strange, but true. But, generally many
>> resellers would exchange two modules with one bigger, for maybe very
>> small amount. This board does support tbred, but only if you apply the
>> mod - this
>> means some soldering skills...you must add one capacitor and remove
>> one. if you intend to do it, i can send you more detailed info, but i
>> doubt you'll still get any 133 MHz based CPU out there...but if
>> you do, i was told that 2400 was the biggest, since 2600 was quickly
>> out of production. I made this change and my PC works fine now with
>> 2400+, and i run it on 140MHz fsb, so it shows as 2600+.




 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bios chips, bios updates, bios upgrades, bios info, Tyan recommended biosman Tyan 0 08-26-2004 07:17 AM
SY-K7V DRAGON Plus - 2ba8 bios not available? Dick Shenary Soyo 2 02-28-2004 12:09 AM
Difference between Dragon Plus kt600 to Dragon Plus kt600 v1.0 Brian Soyo 0 01-26-2004 05:39 AM
Dragon Plus, Ultra Promise, and BIOS Jon Danniken Soyo 2 11-23-2003 02:06 AM
BIOS Recovery for Soyo Dragon Plus - DONT SCRAP YOUR MOTHERBOARD Techy Soyo 4 08-25-2003 08:52 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment