Boot from CD with COMPAQ EVO D510 e-PC

Discussion in 'Compaq' started by rapaz, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. rapaz

    rapaz Guest

    Hi

    I have just bought a Compaq EVO D150 e-PC computer and I´m trying to
    reinstall the operation system. I´ve just updated de BIOS to the last
    revision.

    The problem is that, even I set the correct option in BIOS (first boot
    device CD/DVD) the computer boots from HDD. I have just tried with
    diferent operation systems, diferent CDs (I´m sure the cds are ok).


    F8 and the computer only shows two options boot from LAN or boot from
    HDD.

    Thanks
    -Ramón
     
    rapaz, Mar 19, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. "rapaz" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    Hi

    I have just bought a Compaq EVO D150 e-PC computer and I´m trying to
    reinstall the operation system. I´ve just updated de BIOS to the
    last
    revision.

    The problem is that, even I set the correct option in BIOS (first
    boot
    device CD/DVD) the computer boots from HDD. I have just tried with
    diferent operation systems, diferent CDs (I´m sure the cds are ok).


    F8 and the computer only shows two options boot from LAN or boot
    from
    HDD.

    Thanks
    -Ramón

    Did you notice a note saying Hit any key to boot from CD? This is
    there in case you leave a bootable CD in the drive when you
    shutdown.

    --
    Earl F. Parrish
     
    Earl F. Parrish, Mar 21, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. rapaz

    rapaz Guest

    Hi

    I didn´t notice anything, where is the note, before or after the
    message "Push F8 to ..."

    thanks

    regards,
    -Ramón


    Earl F. Parrish ha escrito:

    > "rapaz" <> wrote in message
    > news:...
    > Hi
    >
    > I have just bought a Compaq EVO D150 e-PC computer and I´m trying to
    > reinstall the operation system. I´ve just updated de BIOS to the
    > last
    > revision.
    >
    > The problem is that, even I set the correct option in BIOS (first
    > boot
    > device CD/DVD) the computer boots from HDD. I have just tried with
    > diferent operation systems, diferent CDs (I´m sure the cds are ok).
    >
    >
    > F8 and the computer only shows two options boot from LAN or boot
    > from
    > HDD.
    >
    > Thanks
    > -Ramón
    >
    > Did you notice a note saying Hit any key to boot from CD? This is
    > there in case you leave a bootable CD in the drive when you
    > shutdown.
    >
    > --
    > Earl F. Parrish
     
    rapaz, Mar 21, 2006
    #3
  4. rapaz

    Patty Guest

    On 21 Mar 2006 00:27:09 -0800, rapaz wrote:

    > Hi
    >
    > I didn´t notice anything, where is the note, before or after the
    > message "Push F8 to ..."
    >
    > thanks
    >
    > regards,
    > -Ramón


    On my Compaq Deskpro it comes on the screen just before the computer boots
    to the OS on the hard drive, right after the Compaq splash screen, and if
    you don't have that set, just after the BIOS is finished doing its thing.
    It gives you a message and a few seconds to press any key to boot from the
    CD.

    Usually F8 allows you to get a menu boot for your OS (some of the options
    are normal, safe mode, command prompt, etc.), so I would think it would be
    before that.

    Patty
     
    Patty, Mar 21, 2006
    #4
  5. rapaz

    rapaz Guest

    Hi

    I´ve tested but it doesn´t show me that message. I updated the BIOS
    with the last revision, the options are the same, set the order of the
    boot devices .. and so on.

    thanks
    -Ramón
     
    rapaz, Mar 23, 2006
    #5
  6. "rapaz" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    Hi

    I´ve tested but it doesn´t show me that message. I updated the BIOS
    with the last revision, the options are the same, set the order of
    the
    boot devices .. and so on.

    thanks
    -Ramón

    From what CD-ROM are you trying to boot? All the Windows XP CD-ROMs
    are bootable. The Compaq Evo series came with a Restore CD which
    would reformat the hard drive and restore the computer to its out of
    the box state. You might also need to turn on the boot from floppy
    option since the CD-ROM emulates a virtual floppy drive.

    Does the BIOS list a CD drive as being present during the Power On
    Self Test? The Compaq logo might be hiding the prompt for CD-ROM
    boot. Can you choose the boot device from the initial display after
    holding down F8 during the boot process? You may have to be fast
    before it goes to the next screen. Try the Pause key.


    --
    Earl F. Parrish
     
    Earl F. Parrish, Mar 25, 2006
    #6
  7. rapaz

    rapaz Guest

    Hi

    I´m trying to boot from a SUSE Linux CD (it works, I´ve tested it in
    another computer). You´re rigth, the BIOS doesn´t list the CD DRIVE
    during the Power ON self test, but the CD ROM works after the systems
    comes from the HDD.

    I´ve bought the computer (second hand) to use it with Linux.

    After I noticed the problem, I updated the BIOS, but it´s the same.

    I´ve turn off the Compag logo (one option of the BIOS, and turn off
    the USB Floppy. It doesn´t work. The problem is that the BIOS doesnt
    detect teh second slave (the CD ROM).

    thanks
    -Ramón
     
    rapaz, Mar 25, 2006
    #7
  8. rapaz

    rapaz Guest

    Hi

    I´ve read that there is one utility called Computer Configuration that
    can be acceses by F10 on startup. The problem is that I can see the
    message to push F10, the documentation says that in the lower rigth
    corner there will a message F10=Configuration but I cant see.

    I have updated the BIOS may it has to do with it?

    Thanks
     
    rapaz, Mar 25, 2006
    #8
  9. rapaz

    didi1977

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    thanx

    thanx plllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllse
     
    didi1977, Dec 25, 2006
    #9
  10. rapaz

    joejack94

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    I have your answer..

    I have the same problem with the HP Compaq computer.. but I found out what is wrong.

    You need to activate "Boot from removable media" in BIOS.

    First, turn on the computer, and go into setup (usually F10)

    Then, go to "Storage" and then "Storage Options"

    Under that, there should be "Removable Media Boot"

    Make sure that is enabled, and then accept it and save and exit.

    There you go.. It should boot. Hope that helps.
     
    joejack94, Oct 23, 2009
    #10
  11. rapaz

    toptop

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    thanks it is so usfull comment
    again thanks
     
    toptop, Sep 8, 2011
    #11
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. ***JB
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    522
  2. Michael T Butler

    Compaq EVO D510 SFF

    Michael T Butler, Jan 23, 2005, in forum: Compaq
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    8,875
    Michael T Butler
    Jan 26, 2005
  3. ***JB
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    494
    ***JB
    Sep 25, 2004
  4. davidj
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,015
    Ben Myers
    Dec 2, 2005
  5. TonyG

    Compaq Evo D510 AGP Cards?

    TonyG, Jul 10, 2006, in forum: Nvidia
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,408
    TonyG
    Jul 14, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page