Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Toshiba Satellite Pro 420 CDT, hard drive problem

 
 
Leo
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-02-2003, 12:17 PM
The drive is a 20GB IBM travelstar, which used to have Linux on it. I
now need to install Win98SE; booting from a Win98 floppy and running
fdisk, the drive only appears to be 16MB. Boot from a Linux floppy and
the drive is 20GB again!

I have put the drive into a desktop and was able to use fdisk to
create a 20GB primary dos partition and format it. Putting the drive
back into the laptop and running fdisk again to show the partition
information resulted in a 20GB partition showing, but still displaying
total disk size as 16MB.

I have also used the IBM Drive Fitness Test software, which correctly
identifies the drive as 20GB; the drive passes all tests and has been
low level formatted and had it's boot sector erased.Various versions
of fdisk have been tried, but always always with the same result; in
the laptop the drive is only 16MB.

The laptop bios is the latest version, not that it makes much
difference, it doesn't display any drive details anyway.

I keep thinking that the problem has to be Linux-related, because the
Linux installation had a 16MB partition on the drive, but I can't
understand why the laptop is seeing only 16MB when nothing else does.

Any ideas?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Quaoar
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-02-2003, 01:14 PM
Leo wrote:
> The drive is a 20GB IBM travelstar, which used to have Linux on it. I
> now need to install Win98SE; booting from a Win98 floppy and running
> fdisk, the drive only appears to be 16MB. Boot from a Linux floppy and
> the drive is 20GB again!
>
> I have put the drive into a desktop and was able to use fdisk to
> create a 20GB primary dos partition and format it. Putting the drive
> back into the laptop and running fdisk again to show the partition
> information resulted in a 20GB partition showing, but still displaying
> total disk size as 16MB.
>
> I have also used the IBM Drive Fitness Test software, which correctly
> identifies the drive as 20GB; the drive passes all tests and has been
> low level formatted and had it's boot sector erased.Various versions
> of fdisk have been tried, but always always with the same result; in
> the laptop the drive is only 16MB.
>
> The laptop bios is the latest version, not that it makes much
> difference, it doesn't display any drive details anyway.
>
> I keep thinking that the problem has to be Linux-related, because the
> Linux installation had a 16MB partition on the drive, but I can't
> understand why the laptop is seeing only 16MB when nothing else does.
>
> Any ideas?


The 420 series BIOS does not support large disks AFIK. This came out of
the box with what, 1.2GB HD? AIRC, the max HD the BIOS would support
was 3GB and that was with a BIOS flash. In order to use a 20GB HD, some
kind of driver overlay is required to get to large partitions. Are you
sure you are not seeing 2GB and 1.6GB?

Q


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Uwe Graepel
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-02-2003, 08:25 PM
> The 420 series BIOS does not support large disks AFIK. This came out of
> the box with what, 1.2GB HD? AIRC, the max HD the BIOS would support
> was 3GB and that was with a BIOS flash. In order to use a 20GB HD, some


How was it possible that Linux ran well with all the 20 GB on that machine
as he mentioned?

Regards,

Uwe


 
Reply With Quote
 
Henry B Jobin
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-02-2003, 09:26 PM
lets wait till the origional question has been succesfully answered and then
I might offer the explaination.

Henry

"Uwe Graepel" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:bdvf4b$11ese7$(E-Mail Removed)...
> > The 420 series BIOS does not support large disks AFIK. This came out of
> > the box with what, 1.2GB HD? AIRC, the max HD the BIOS would support
> > was 3GB and that was with a BIOS flash. In order to use a 20GB HD, some

>
> How was it possible that Linux ran well with all the 20 GB on that machine
> as he mentioned?
>
> Regards,
>
> Uwe
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Barry Watzman
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-03-2003, 02:39 AM
That is incorrect; the 4xx series, although vintage 1997, does support
drives larger than 3-4 gigs natively with the latest BIOS. However,
that doesn't mean that it will go to 20 gigs. I don't know what the
limit is, however I do know that I've had 6 and 10 gig drives in
machines from that series with no problems, and not using drive overlay
software.


Quaoar wrote:
> Leo wrote:
>
>>The drive is a 20GB IBM travelstar, which used to have Linux on it. I
>>now need to install Win98SE; booting from a Win98 floppy and running
>>fdisk, the drive only appears to be 16MB. Boot from a Linux floppy and
>>the drive is 20GB again!
>>
>>I have put the drive into a desktop and was able to use fdisk to
>>create a 20GB primary dos partition and format it. Putting the drive
>>back into the laptop and running fdisk again to show the partition
>>information resulted in a 20GB partition showing, but still displaying
>>total disk size as 16MB.
>>
>>I have also used the IBM Drive Fitness Test software, which correctly
>>identifies the drive as 20GB; the drive passes all tests and has been
>>low level formatted and had it's boot sector erased.Various versions
>>of fdisk have been tried, but always always with the same result; in
>>the laptop the drive is only 16MB.
>>
>>The laptop bios is the latest version, not that it makes much
>>difference, it doesn't display any drive details anyway.
>>
>>I keep thinking that the problem has to be Linux-related, because the
>>Linux installation had a 16MB partition on the drive, but I can't
>>understand why the laptop is seeing only 16MB when nothing else does.
>>
>>Any ideas?

>
>
> The 420 series BIOS does not support large disks AFIK. This came out of
> the box with what, 1.2GB HD? AIRC, the max HD the BIOS would support
> was 3GB and that was with a BIOS flash. In order to use a 20GB HD, some
> kind of driver overlay is required to get to large partitions. Are you
> sure you are not seeing 2GB and 1.6GB?
>
> Q
>
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Henry B Jobin
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-03-2003, 04:53 AM
Linux doesnt write or read through the bios i/o calls !

Henry

"Uwe Graepel" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:bdvf4b$11ese7$(E-Mail Removed)...
> > The 420 series BIOS does not support large disks AFIK. This came out of
> > the box with what, 1.2GB HD? AIRC, the max HD the BIOS would support
> > was 3GB and that was with a BIOS flash. In order to use a 20GB HD, some

>
> How was it possible that Linux ran well with all the 20 GB on that machine
> as he mentioned?
>
> Regards,
>
> Uwe
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Leo
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-03-2003, 09:25 AM
"Henry B Jobin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<zYAMa.973$(E-Mail Removed) >...
> use the command "fdisk/mbr" (without quotes) from DOS command line
> and then fdisk the drive as you normally would followed by formating. you
> then will have full capacity.
>
> Let us know if it works.
>
> Henry
>



Thanks for the input so far. I've already tried fdisk/mbr, but
unfortunately that doesn't work either. As regards bios limitations,
I'm fairly sure that an earlier install of Win98, prior to the Linux
install, recognised the whole drive. Also, if it was the bios, why
16MB?

Having said that, in the bios there are two options for HDD Mode,
Enhanced IDE (Normal) and Standard IDE; changing from Enhanced to
Standard in the bios results in fdisk seeing 504MB instead of 16MB.
Now, 504MB is the original IDE/BIOS limitation, so that makes sense,
but the EIDE seeing 16MB doesn't.

Incidentally, fdisk does ask if LBA should be enabled, which infers
that it knows that it is a large disk.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Uwe Graepel
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-03-2003, 05:01 PM

> Linux doesnt write or read through the bios i/o calls !


In fact I'm not a Linux specialist at all. So you might be right although it
sounds pretty strange to me that Linux shll not be bound to the BIOS.
However, I own a SatellitePro 440CDT which runs excellent with a 20 GB
toshiba harddrive.

Regards,

Uwe


 
Reply With Quote
 
Leo
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-03-2003, 06:38 PM
"Quaoar" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message news:<(E-Mail Removed)>...
> Leo wrote:
> > "Henry B Jobin" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> > news:<zYAMa.973$(E-Mail Removed) >...
> >> use the command "fdisk/mbr" (without quotes) from DOS command
> >> line
> >> and then fdisk the drive as you normally would followed by
> >> formating. you
> >> then will have full capacity.
> >>
> >> Let us know if it works.
> >>
> >> Henry
> >>

> >
> >
> > Thanks for the input so far. I've already tried fdisk/mbr, but
> > unfortunately that doesn't work either. As regards bios limitations,
> > I'm fairly sure that an earlier install of Win98, prior to the Linux
> > install, recognised the whole drive. Also, if it was the bios, why
> > 16MB?
> >
> > Having said that, in the bios there are two options for HDD Mode,
> > Enhanced IDE (Normal) and Standard IDE; changing from Enhanced to
> > Standard in the bios results in fdisk seeing 504MB instead of 16MB.
> > Now, 504MB is the original IDE/BIOS limitation, so that makes sense,
> > but the EIDE seeing 16MB doesn't.
> >
> > Incidentally, fdisk does ask if LBA should be enabled, which infers
> > that it knows that it is a large disk.

>
> What BIOS rev is flashed on this?
>
> Q


BIOS is 5.40, which is the latest. Before last BIOS upgrade it was
5.30; the problem was exactly the same and flashing 5.40 hasn't made
any difference.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Peter T. Breuer
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      07-03-2003, 08:46 PM
In comp.os.linux.misc Uwe Graepel <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>> Linux doesnt write or read through the bios i/o calls !


> In fact I'm not a Linux specialist at all. So you might be right although it
> sounds pretty strange to me that Linux shll not be bound to the BIOS.


No o/s has used the bios for i/o for something like 8 years. What
strange about it? I think msdos was the last o/s to use the bios for
i/o.

> However, I own a SatellitePro 440CDT which runs excellent with a 20 GB
> toshiba harddrive.


The sentence is meaningless.

Peter
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive replacement on Toshiba satellite pro 4300 series olivier.duhart@gmail.com Laptops 3 01-13-2006 05:00 PM
Toshiba Satellite 1000/1005 satellite hard disk? dave Laptops 7 08-04-2005 04:13 AM
Re: How to disassemble a Toshiba Satellite laptop? /Re: How to disassemble a Toshiba Satellite laptop 2805 -s 201/202 chipinapi Laptops 0 12-16-2004 03:44 PM
Toshiba Satellite Pro 4260 Hard Drive Upgrade J D Laptops 7 11-18-2004 05:20 PM
Toshiba Satellite Pro 420, is it good? MR-FDDADDY@webtv.net Laptops 1 07-25-2003 02:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment