Motherboard Forums


Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes

Upgrade from Athlon XP 1800+ to 2800+...temps up almost 15C?!

 
 
Robert Paulsen
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-17-2003, 03:22 AM
I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4 (Gigabyte
utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after doing
nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's pretty
much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both the last
time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go through all
the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease off and put a
thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or anything, but I've
never bothered to do that before either. At any rate, I would think
at most that would account for a couple degrees, not the almost 15C
increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C, which is pretty close
to what it was before. This tells me I've got decent enough airflow
in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any ideas what is causing
this?

jds
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
J.Clarke
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-17-2003, 06:13 AM
On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 03:22:42 GMT
Robert Paulsen <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4 (Gigabyte
> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after doing
> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's pretty
> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both the last
> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go through all
> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease off and put a
> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or anything, but I've
> never bothered to do that before either. At any rate, I would think
> at most that would account for a couple degrees, not the almost 15C
> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C, which is pretty close
> to what it was before. This tells me I've got decent enough airflow
> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any ideas what is causing
> this?


Well, let's see, the 2800+ consumes 57-68 watts, the 1800 consumes
46-51. Think that might have something to do with it?
>
> jds



--
--
--John
Reply to jclarke at ae tee tee global dot net
(was jclarke at eye bee em dot net)
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Hank
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-17-2003, 09:10 AM

"Robert Paulsen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4 (Gigabyte
> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after doing
> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's pretty
> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both the last
> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go through all
> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease off and put a
> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or anything, but I've
> never bothered to do that before either. At any rate, I would think
> at most that would account for a couple degrees, not the almost 15C
> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C, which is pretty close
> to what it was before. This tells me I've got decent enough airflow
> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any ideas what is causing
> this?
>
> jds


It's gotta be that the heatsink didn't get seated correctly when you
installed it and it's not making full contact with the core. That's the only
thing that could explain those way out of whack temps. They are easy to put
on wrong with out even really trying very hard. Your going to have to take
it off and reinstall it making sure your put it back on the right direction
so that the sink isn't sitting on the shoulder of the cpu socket. They only
go on one way.

Hank


 
Reply With Quote
 
Wes Newell
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-17-2003, 10:50 AM
On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 03:22:42 +0000, Robert Paulsen wrote:

> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4 (Gigabyte
> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after doing
> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's pretty
> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both the last
> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go through all
> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease off and put a
> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or anything, but I've
> never bothered to do that before either. At any rate, I would think
> at most that would account for a couple degrees, not the almost 15C
> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C, which is pretty close
> to what it was before. This tells me I've got decent enough airflow
> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any ideas what is causing
> this?
>

45C for a case temp is way too high unless ambient is about 40C. The new
cpu should run cooler than the old one if it was a Palomino core 1800.
Sounds like you didn't get the hsf mounted right or it's just not a very
good one. Oh, V7, fair.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.html
 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Paulsen
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-18-2003, 03:16 AM
Umm....no.

On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 01:13:33 -0500, "J.Clarke"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 03:22:42 GMT
>Robert Paulsen <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
>> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
>> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
>> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4 (Gigabyte
>> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after doing
>> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's pretty
>> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both the last
>> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go through all
>> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease off and put a
>> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or anything, but I've
>> never bothered to do that before either. At any rate, I would think
>> at most that would account for a couple degrees, not the almost 15C
>> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C, which is pretty close
>> to what it was before. This tells me I've got decent enough airflow
>> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any ideas what is causing
>> this?

>
>Well, let's see, the 2800+ consumes 57-68 watts, the 1800 consumes
>46-51. Think that might have something to do with it?
>>
>> jds

>
>
>--


 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Paulsen
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-18-2003, 03:17 AM
The clip on the V7 seems pretty tight, and I know orientation-wise the
thing is on right...but I'll take it off and re-seat it. I can't
think of any other reasons for such a disparity.

Ambient air temps in my office are at most 30C...probably closer to
25C. Is there a good rule of thumb for what the difference between
ambient and case temps should be? I've got a full tower case, an
intake and two smaller exhaust fans...it seems to get decent airflow,
but I guess it is pretty crowded in there. I don't know what else to
do to bring the case temps down.

RP


On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 10:50:23 GMT, Wes Newell <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:

>On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 03:22:42 +0000, Robert Paulsen wrote:
>
>> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
>> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
>> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
>> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4 (Gigabyte
>> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after doing
>> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's pretty
>> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both the last
>> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go through all
>> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease off and put a
>> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or anything, but I've
>> never bothered to do that before either. At any rate, I would think
>> at most that would account for a couple degrees, not the almost 15C
>> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C, which is pretty close
>> to what it was before. This tells me I've got decent enough airflow
>> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any ideas what is causing
>> this?
>>

>45C for a case temp is way too high unless ambient is about 40C. The new
>cpu should run cooler than the old one if it was a Palomino core 1800.
>Sounds like you didn't get the hsf mounted right or it's just not a very
>good one. Oh, V7, fair.


 
Reply With Quote
 
J.Clarke
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-18-2003, 04:00 AM
On Thu, 18 Dec 2003 03:16:38 GMT
Robert Paulsen <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> Umm....no.


Umm, I see. So more power does not equal higher temperatures? Do tell.
>
> On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 01:13:33 -0500, "J.Clarke"
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
> >On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 03:22:42 GMT
> >Robert Paulsen <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> >
> >> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
> >> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
> >> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
> >> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4

> >(Gigabyte> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after
> >doing> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's
> >pretty> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both
> >the last> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go
> >through all> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease
> >off and put a> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or
> >anything, but I've> never bothered to do that before either. At any
> >rate, I would think> at most that would account for a couple degrees,
> >not the almost 15C> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C,
> >which is pretty close> to what it was before. This tells me I've got
> >decent enough airflow> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any
> >ideas what is causing> this?
> >
> >Well, let's see, the 2800+ consumes 57-68 watts, the 1800 consumes
> >46-51. Think that might have something to do with it?
> >>
> >> jds

> >
> >
> >--

>



--
--
--John
Reply to jclarke at ae tee tee global dot net
(was jclarke at eye bee em dot net)
 
Reply With Quote
 
Robert Paulsen
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-18-2003, 06:17 AM
More power certainly does not EQUAL higher temperatures...its not that
simple. The Barton CPUs have I think a 20% larger die surface area, so
while they do use more power they do not run as hot as the Palominos,
clock for clock. Now, the 2800+ is clocked higher than the 1800+, yes.
Enough higher to offset the surface area advantage? I don't know, but
certainly there should not be a 13C-15C increase in processor temps
between the two, which you seem to suggest is normal. Its NOT normal,
because if you look at most everyone's reported temps, they don't do
this.

In case anyone cares, I did as a few others suggested and re-seated
the HSF. I also cleaned off the CPU and HSF base and re-applied the
Arctic Silver 3, trying to follow their recommended method. I did not
notice any contaminants or obvious problems upon removal, but I am now
seeing CPU temps of 64C, and they've been solid there for a while now.
Its still a bit hotter than I like, but its a lot better than 70C-74C.

RP


On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 23:00:20 -0500, "J.Clarke"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>On Thu, 18 Dec 2003 03:16:38 GMT
>Robert Paulsen <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> Umm....no.

>
>Umm, I see. So more power does not equal higher temperatures? Do tell.
>>
>> On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 01:13:33 -0500, "J.Clarke"
>> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>
>> >On Wed, 17 Dec 2003 03:22:42 GMT
>> >Robert Paulsen <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> >
>> >> I recently upgraded my CPU from an XP 1800+ to a Barton core
>> >> 2800+/333. All other hardware is the same, namely a Gigabyte 7N400
>> >> Pro2 and a Thermaltake Volcano 7 HSF. I wasn't exactly the coldest
>> >> rig on the planet...my CPU temps as measured by Easy Tune 4
>> >(Gigabyte> utility) were in the low to mid-50s at idle. Now...after
>> >doing> nothing but change CPUs...my CPU temps are 70-73C and that's
>> >pretty> much just idle! Now, while I did use Arctic Silver 3 (both
>> >the last> time I switched and this current time) I didn't quite go
>> >through all> the steps that they recommend. I wiped the old grease
>> >off and put a> thin layer on the core of the CPU...no acetone or
>> >anything, but I've> never bothered to do that before either. At any
>> >rate, I would think> at most that would account for a couple degrees,
>> >not the almost 15C> increase I'm seeing. Case temps are around 45C,
>> >which is pretty close> to what it was before. This tells me I've got
>> >decent enough airflow> in the case, my CPU is just running hot. Any
>> >ideas what is causing> this?
>> >
>> >Well, let's see, the 2800+ consumes 57-68 watts, the 1800 consumes
>> >46-51. Think that might have something to do with it?
>> >>
>> >> jds
>> >
>> >
>> >--

>>

>
>
>--


 
Reply With Quote
 
Wes Newell
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-18-2003, 06:19 AM
On Thu, 18 Dec 2003 03:17:34 +0000, Robert Paulsen wrote:

> The clip on the V7 seems pretty tight, and I know orientation-wise the
> thing is on right...but I'll take it off and re-seat it. I can't think
> of any other reasons for such a disparity.
>
> Ambient air temps in my office are at most 30C...probably closer to 25C.
> Is there a good rule of thumb for what the difference between ambient
> and case temps should be? I've got a full tower case, an intake and two
> smaller exhaust fans...it seems to get decent airflow, but I guess it is
> pretty crowded in there. I don't know what else to do to bring the case
> temps down.
>

I consider it bad if case is 10C over ambient temp. Mine are about 5C or
less over room temp. 2 case fans + PSU fan. The way most cases are made
these days there's so much case metal between the fan and the outside air
that it's hard for them to function properly. I take a pair of cutters to
the case material blocking the airflow and cut it out. And if the plastic
front is blocked, I either cut it out if there's a way to get more air
through it, or drill a bunch of 1/4 inch holes in the plastic. Just these
simple things more than doubled the fan airflow and also made the fans
quieter since they weren't sucking for air. Don't know what to tell you
about the cpu running so hot, but there's something wrong if it's running
hotter than the old one. When you changed cpu's you did reset vcore to
proper setting I assume or at least kept it within reason.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.html
 
Reply With Quote
 
Hank
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12-18-2003, 06:58 AM

"Robert Paulsen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...

>
> In case anyone cares, I did as a few others suggested and re-seated
> the HSF. I also cleaned off the CPU and HSF base and re-applied the
> Arctic Silver 3, trying to follow their recommended method. I did not
> notice any contaminants or obvious problems upon removal, but I am now
> seeing CPU temps of 64C, and they've been solid there for a while now.
> Its still a bit hotter than I like, but its a lot better than 70C-74C.
>


Well that is better but still high. Whats you case ambient and case temps
like now?

Hank


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Athlon XP-M to mobile Athlon 64? zwsdotcom@gmail.com Laptops 0 07-26-2006 07:40 PM
Sony's almost Tablet PC is almost out in USA Mickey Segal Tablet PC 6 12-01-2004 01:45 AM
Newbie>>Please help <<KT7A Raid>>Using Athlon-1.1MHz socket A - Want to upgrade What is the fastest Athlon that will work TIA dingbolt Abit 1 02-12-2004 12:22 AM
AI7 Problem Solved......Almost! LenBum Abit 5 02-05-2004 12:52 AM
Strange problem with Win 2000 after Athlon 2500+ upgrade from Athlon 2000+ Thomas Jansen Gigabyte 1 10-27-2003 07:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Welcome!
Welcome to Motherboard Point
 

Advertisment