ASUS RMA/service issues

Discussion in 'Asus' started by taug6, Mar 6, 2018.

1. taug6

taug6

I thought I should share this little adventure of mine with ASUS here.

I consider myself a loyal ASUS customer since for the last 5 years I must have built close to 10 high-end PCs using ASUS motherboards (most of them ROG) mainly for processing intensive applications (with moderate/high overclocking).

Some of the PCs were built for private use but most of them for the companies I work for. By profession, I design/test ASICs and FPGAs. My base originally used to be UK but a couple of years ago I decided to move with my family in US.

Over half a year ago, one of PCs (using an ASUS X-99 Pro motherboard) that was built for private use started crashing intermittently (indicating some error q-codes) and a few months back it stopped booting completely, indicating q-code "00". When I managed to find some time, I tried to debug the problem only to establish that it was motherboard related.

At that point, I got in touch with ASUS and via their electronic system I gave a description of the problem, the debugging method that I followed and all the necessary information requested by their system (like Model description, serial number etc) in order to request for an RMA (Return Merchant Authorization) under the warranty.

A couple of days later I received the RMA number/approval and instructions on providing a similar documentation (e.g. serial no, debugging method followed) along with instructions on how to pack and send the motherboard back to ASUS.

After disassembling the PC to remove the motherboard and following the RMA instructions, packaging and mailing the motherboard at my own cost, the motherboard was shipped to ASUS.

About two weeks later I received an email from ASUS indicating the following: