Motherboard/CPU temps

Discussion in 'Motherboard General Discussion' started by DMcWheels, Jun 11, 2008.

1. DMcWheels

DMcWheels

I would like to ask a couple of questions about the temps on my processor and board. I’ve been running this system for going on four years so I it’s not that big of an issue but I do get concerned when I read about all the folks here running a similar setup and reporting CPU temps anywhere from 25 to 36 degrees even while working. Right now, the only app I’m running besides IE7 is MS Word and my CPU temp is 50 while I have a 38 and 36 in system zones one and two. The problem, if you can call it that, gets worse when I put the CPU to work. For the most part, I can keep it out of the high 60s but only when I employ some noisy tactics.

When I first built this rig, my intension was to be able to edit, process, render, and create DVDs out of all my old Sony Handicam 8mm tapes. So I jumped right into it and right off the bat, I saw my CPU temps jump way high. Fortunately, I always run Intel’s Active Monitor so I got a warning and killed my work to cool things down and then I started to investigate the problem.

For starters, I used a “boxed” processor with Intel’s cooling solution already attached to the processor and mounted on the motherboard. (Prescott 3.2E on a D875PBZ). After reading some literature from Intel, I found that it was recommended that this processor should have a special case with a modified or special cooling duct that routed outside air directly onto the processor fan.