N00b question

Discussion in 'Abit' started by ydnar71, Dec 12, 2012.

1. ydnar71

ydnar71

Just bought a tower off a guy who didn't want to fix the motherboard-

I have basic knowledge about computers but know practically nothing when it comes to motherboards , i figured someone on this forum could answer a simple question- i've done a little research with no solutions yet :[

I have an ABIT - IS7 - E2 motherboard and from what I have found these motherboards are quite outdated and extremely fragile and seem to fry within no time.

My question--- > Is there a modern motherboard that can directly replace the ABIT MB with no fitment issues? I plan on putting windows 7 or 8 on it- I really just want to use the tower I bought to make it a computer with optimal performance, but also stay in a relatively low budget -

ydnar71, Dec 12, 2012
  2. ydnar71

rbrband

OK--this is ancient! Many people still use Pentium 4, though--it proved hugely popular in its day. Many here would agree--what do you mean by "low budget?" Really, performance depends heavily on how much you wish to spend. ABit doesn't exists anymore, either.

This is an ATX motherboard. You may check out the case to be certain--it likely supports micro-ATX, too--value boards generally are micro-ATX. Computer architecture has changed drastically--at the bare minimum to get this up to date, you need a new motherboard, DDR3 memory sticks, and CPU--these integrate together--no way around that.

What's is your power supply like? Find it's make and model. Do you feel confident that it can cut the mustard--at least for awhile? Does it offer SATA power connectors? Generally, newer boards don't directly support EIDE/ATA--they don't offer the connectors necessary, anymore. This likely applies to both the hard drive(s) and optical drive(s). To use these--which you don't really want--you'd need adapter cards that feed signal through the correct cabling to such peripherals.