Ya know shuttles are crap!

Discussion in 'Shuttle' started by Dom, Dec 7, 2008.

1. Dom

Dom Guest

I've built a shuttle and I've built a silverstone box with a mATX both with
    all the goodies and I would never buy another Shuttle. The options you get
    with other boxes make the difference.
    The shuttle I built 3 years ago has had a power supply go out(high $ and
    took 10 days to get), and now the motherboard video bus on the motherboard
    is bad and I have to scrap the whole barebone system. Looks great but a
    bunch of junk.

If you want a nice small form factor machine, buy a small box and off the
    shelf components.
    Just my thoughts and experience. I could be wrong but I don't think so.

Dom, Dec 7, 2008
    1. Advertisements

2. Dom

Rik

Its all about perspective

I've been running 2 Shuttles for 5 years now, under excruciating conditions at times (carried 1 in hand luggage overseas, powered the other on a square-wave 12V inverter for months and we've been living in the tropics for over 3 years with no aircon - with both running 24/7 most of the time) and both are still running fine.

All the problems I've had are either MY fault:
    clean out fans more regularly, use current drivers and don't let kids plug things in,
    OR faulty components: 2 DVD burners and an AGP card so far.
    A re-install every couple of years is inevitable.

I don't need over-textured games in HD (this cycle of need will never end for some)... just movies and documents (and up-time).

The small form factor (with excellent heatsink), full feature set and expandability easily compensate for the risk of proprietary replacement parts IMO - otherwise just buy a "standard sized" box from anywhere and see how you go. If you have no tech skills then get personal with a local store that can provide support with a minimum of transport.